Select Your City
The Forest of Stories: Book 1 (Mahabharat Series)

The Forest of Stories: Book 1 (Mahabharat Series)

Lowest online price: 295.00 160 (46% off)
Language English
Contributor(s) Ashok K. Banker
Binding Paperback
See all details

The Forest of Stories: Book 1 Price from 1 Online Seller

Seller Seller Rating Est. Delivery Price Buying Options

0 out of 5.0 stars

  1. 5 star (0)
  2. 4 star (0)
  3. 3 star (0)
  4. 2 star (0)
  5. 1 star (0)
4 – 7 days
160.00 FREE Shipping
  • Used
See a problem with these offers?
Buy the The Forest of Stories: Book 1 from Marketplace.
The lowest price on Junglee by Amazon for the The Forest of Stories: Book 1 is 160.00 from Marketplace.

Related Items Sold By Other Customers

Explore More Items Similar to The Forest of Stories: Book 1

Overview: The Forest of Stories: Book 1

The Forest of Stories (Book 1) (Mahabharat Series) by Ashok Banker is an epic in itself. The book narrates a selected part of The Mahabharata. Banker plans to write 18 book series on the subject, and this book is the first part of the series. The sequels are The Seeds of War and The Children of Midnight. The Forest of Stories takes the reader to the haunted Naimisha-van where Kulapati Shaunaka's ashram men receive a tired traveler. This traveler called Sauti, is a learned man, a narrator of historical tales, and the disciple of Ved Vyasa, the creator of Mahabharat. Vyasa has passed away, and this traveler comes bearing this sad news. After being urged by the ashram men, Sauti begins to narrate the tale of Mahabharat, as Vyas wrote it.

This book talks about Parashurama in detail and all the small incidents and mysticism surrounding him. How Parshuram stole the holy cow, Kamdhenu from Sage Jamadhagni's ashram is detailed here. It also speaks about Parshuram's vengeance against Kshatriyas and his vow to wipe them off this planet. The book also narrates the Sarpa Yagya carried out by Janamejaya, Parikshit's son. The tale of Dushyant and Shakuntala is also narrated beautifully. This first book of the 18 part series sets the correct tone of the epic by befittingly capturing the essence and vastness of Mahabharat. Capturing the Sanskrit shlokas immersed in an impeccable narration and vivid imagery, The Forest of Stories is an engrossing take on the epic Mahabharat.

The author Ashok Banker is an exponent in penning down Indian mythology. His Ramayana Series has been internationally well received and is one of the most accurate re-telling of the epic. He has also written The Krishna Coriolis series, another multi-part retelling of Hindi mythology. He has been acknowledged in The Picador Book of Modern Indian Writing and has won many accolades for his work in demystifying Indian literature. This paperback book is available online with the ISBN 10 number of 9381626375 and the ISBN 13 number of 978-9381626375.

Product Details
Language English
Publication Date February 12, 2012
Publisher Westland
Contributor(s) Ashok K. Banker
Binding Paperback
Edition 2012
Book Volume 1
Page Count 376
ISBN 10 9381626375
ISBN 13 9789381626375
Post Ad books

Customer Reviews on The Forest of Stories: Book 1

  1. 5 star (4)
  2. 4 star (3)
  3. 3 star (1)
  4. 2 star (0)
  5. 1 star (0)
Overall Rating 4.4 out of 5 stars
Write a review
Reviews by source