Customer Reviews on Amazon.co.uk

(43 reviews)
4.3 out of 5 stars
  1. 5 star (29)
  2. 4 star (6)
  3. 3 star (3)
  4. 2 star (0)
  5. 1 star (5)
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 5 | Next ›
  1. Most Helpful First
  2. |
  3. Newest First
  1. 60 of 60 people found this review helpful
     Samsung Galaxy Ace 25 November, 2012 On Amazon.co.uk
    Already owned one of these for a couple of weeks and have been very pleased with it, so bought another one for my wife. I had read that battery life was poor but I've found it okay for a smart phone. I'm a light user and have my settings on 2G and wifi. Initially I was switching it on and off quite a few times to check my number had been transferred and do all the setup and downloads you do with a new phone. That can take a lot out of the battery but it was only down to around 35% after a couple of days of this, when I topped it up with a charge. Both my wife and I find the Samsung interface very user friendly and the screen image is very good. I find the screen size just right for me,(I've downsized from an Xperia Arc) small enough to carry around easily yet big enough to enter text from the portrait qwerty keypad (tried the Galaxy Y but couldn't get on the the small keypad).Overall, generally used as a phone and text with occasional web browsing rather than for heavy media usage this phone is ideal. Also very good service from Digi-Fun, ordered Friday received Saturday am. Excellent price too.
  2. 10 of 10 people found this review helpful
     not enough memory even for sms messages 28 May, 2013 On Amazon.co.uk
    I have installed only the basic applications such as youtube, gmail, london transport, and I had to uninstall even yahoo mail, Facebook, etc, and still I keep receiving the notification that there is not enough space even for the incoming sms messages. I have to delete any message I receive in order to get a new one. I don't have a single message on my phone! Besides aren't they on sim card anyway? My apps are in my sd card, so are my music and a few photos. Even a simple phone can receive sms messages. It is very very disappointing. Besides it's been only few weeks and already in the last two days, the phone freezes and I can't complete any action without removing the battery and then switch on the phone.

    I don't recommend it to anyone.
  3. 31 of 33 people found this review helpful
     Five Stars But... 3 January, 2013 On Amazon.co.uk
    This is a great phone and is perfect for me - It's fast, works well and is easy to use. I would without doubt give it five stars in every category but there's a small issue - the internal memory.
    After about a week of owning my phone I had already got to the limits of it and had downloaded apps like app2sd to keep the phone working normally. There are a few short term solutions for this - like uninstalling updates for pre installed apps like google maps but quickly without downloading much more it filled up again.
    Moving on from my one and only problem with this phone I completely love it. The screen is just as responsive as apple devices and this phone can do everything you would expect from a smartphone and more!!! The camera is great quality and there is a wide variety of apps to download.
    Overall, great phone and I do recommend it to anyone who's looking for a great smartphone - it's clearly way ahead of all the other phones in this price range.
  4. 7 of 7 people found this review helpful
     reccommend 1 April, 2013 On Amazon.co.uk
    I have always had a nokia in the past, so this is my first Samsung, and phone of this type. All in all I am happy with the purchase, however I agree with other reviews it does not have much memory to add apps, thats not a problem in my case but could be for other users. Also there are too many pre loaded apps that cannot be deleted, and that I may never use. The back cover is flimsy, so I had to purchase a case. The camera is very good, and other features work well, in particular I like "swype" the samsung equivalent to predictive text.Would recommend this phone. My son has an iphone, and he thinks there is not that much between them.
  5. 18 of 20 people found this review helpful
     Perfect for people who rate value, phone hobbyists, and developers. Love it. 1 January, 2013 On Amazon.co.uk
    A cheap as chips, no thrill phone that does exactly what you expect of it.
    Receives and sends messages, calls etc. Has office compatible software and can download a few apps to it.

    Where this phone excels is in its ability to let you 'play' with it. By that I mean, with a few internet searches, you can find out how to overcome the limitations it has re: small internal phone memory that quickly clogs up with greedy apps that do not want to shift onto the SD card. You can make 99% of apps install on the SD card by downloading the Android SDK, and copying about 2 lines of code...Problem solved. You can also plug in a whopper of an SD card and allocate a percentage of that RAM to the system, thus increasing the speed of the phone. Oh, and you can tweak the CPU speed as well.

    Another problem is, the phone doesn't let you install the latest Android for whatever reason...Well, at only just over £100, I wasn't too fussed if I bricked the phone (indeed I did three times) whilst attempting to upload a Jelly Bean mod, new Kernals and modules etc. As long as you do your research, and make sure you read and re-read the instructions and 100% you have everything you need on the phone (transferred from PC) and have made back-ups etc, then you can soft brick your phone and fix it in the space of 15 minutes.

    Hence, my cheap as chips phone now has a version of Jelly bean, runs like a dream, has 16 gig of storage to play with...And is overclocked.

    So you have 3 choices. You can pay through the nose for something else that is big and powerful...Or you can buy this and accept it as a cheap and simple unit that will do what you expect of a £100 phone...Or, with a bit of digging about, turn it into a monster (at the expense of your warranty I hasten to add). Love this phone, and would recommend it to people who place good value above showing off, and developers as a simple testbed.
  6. 10 of 11 people found this review helpful
     Samsung Galaxy Ace 30 November, 2012 On Amazon.co.uk
    This is the first touch phone I have owned and it is brilliant. Very easy to set up and use. Qwerty key board is great for messaging and texting. The camera takes adequate photos
  7. 3 of 3 people found this review helpful
     Excellent 31 December, 2012 On Amazon.co.uk
    Ordered this phone for Christmas and it came very quickly , the phone itself is very good entry level smartphone it is plenty quick enough for me and can browse the internet and go on facebook twitter and link all your emails to it if you wish. The touch screen works great better than all my previous phones the menu system is easy to get to grips with and just looks the part . The only downside to the phone is its internal free memory which is only around 200mb which limits how many apps you can put on the phone even if your going through the sd card it still seems to use the internal memory for something the battery life is pretty much the same as any smart phone on the market if you have wi fi and playing with everything through out the day then you need to charge it every night which is no big deal to me , all in all its a great phone and i am very happy with it for the price if you have unrealistic goals for this phone your going to dislike it its not a galaxy s3 .
  8. 18 of 21 people found this review helpful
     The Joy of Text 11 February, 2013 On Amazon.co.uk
    After a long and happy relationship with my dear old Samsung slider, we realised that our text-life had become dull and predictable (or should that be "predictive"?).. As our children had grown up and moved away we took the decision to separate. Yes it's sad, but my eye had been turned by a sleek, sexy young model and, as we're both adults, we were able to make the move with the minimum of fuss. Now I can honestly say that my life has turned a corner - I've never been happier and my new model has opened up wonderful new vistas. Our text-life is wild and exciting and I feel several years younger myself...

    OK. Being a cheap g!t, I bought this Galaxy Ace on the basis of a cheap network provider package. I was initially worried that I was therefore getting an equally cheap and nasty smart-phone but I couldn't have been more wrong. Well, to be honest, what I actually know about smart-phones could be written on one side of an micro-SDHC card, so for all I know the Galaxy Ace could WELL be extremely cheap and nasty. However, looking at it, holding it in my hand, actually using it, it doesn't feel or look bad at all. It has a nice heft to it (I find it ironic that mobile phones and other electronica have been getting progressively smaller over the years, but then, all of a sudden, with the iPhone, they started getting bigger again!) and it's glossy and sleek. With only one visible button on the front and one on each side it has a clean minimalist look to it and it sits happily in the palm of the hand. Externally, there's nothing to suggest that this isn't a top-of-the-range generic smart-phone.

    Pretty much the only other stipulation I had when making my choice was that I wanted a Samsung/Android phone for familiarity's sake. I've been using a Samsung Galaxy Tab for several months now and I have a good understanding of how to interact with that device: the Ace is pretty much a smaller, cut-down version of the same thing (a huge simplification, I know, but not too far from the truth). That makes it so much easier for me to use, but there were still a few surprises. Nevertheless, after only a few days of use, I did get the hang of it...

    The screen is clear, sharp and vibrant but it can be tricky to read in full sunlight. The virtual keyboard (for text entry) is dauntingly dainty for someone with fat chunky fingers like mine, but it works surprisingly well and the touch screen function is nicely responsive. The numeric dial pad is much bigger and even easier to use. Do bear in mind that the "user guide" that comes in the box is pants. Utter pants. Downloading the full manual from the Samsung support site is a real must.

    The controls, as I've said are minimal. That big button on the front? That's simply a "Home" button: it does little more than take you to the home screen (or a long press calls up the Task Manager). Either side of it is a hidden touch screen button, one of which accesses a dynamic menu and the other is a "back-to" function. There's a volume button on one side of the casing and an on-off on the other. All other controls are via the main touch screen: look out for the swipe-down shortcut menu at the top which allows you to access notifications and some of the main functions (Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, GPS etc).

    There's also a MicroSD card slot (you don't need to take the cover off to access this - result!) and a microUSB port for charging and data transfer.

    The 5MP camera is pretty good and I've taken a lot of piccies with it. It includes a useful "panorama" facility and a fairly decent flash. It's simple to use too.

    Operating the Ace as a phone (surely that's why you're going to buy it? Surely?!) is simple. You can access the dial pad or text message functions from the widgets at the bottom of the main screen. Alternatively, go to the contacts list and swipe across the contact you want to call to autodial. You can also text or email your contact from here.

    As for connectivity, phoning up the internet is obviously going to be slow (and potentially expensive) so the phone will default to your local wi-fi (if one is available) to save draining your network data plan. If you have the air-time, you can also use it as a Wi-Fi hotspot in its own right to the benefit of your other, non-3G devices (a function that is called "tethering"). However, I've tired this a few times to connect my Wifi only tablet and I'm not impressed - the data speed is carp. Bluetooth works fine too for local file transfers. And GPS. Did I mention GPS? This little thing, about the size of a box of Swan Vestas, speaks to satellites! Kewl!

    The world of apps may be a little bewildering to you. This isn't an app review, but I will list a few exciting (and free) opportunities...

    - Did you throw away your trusty calculator many years ago? Download RealCalc for a decent scientific electronic abacus.
    - Do you jog/cycle/ski to work? Sports Tracker will record your route, time and log your run and calculate the calories you have burned. It'll even share it to Facebook.
    - Sudoku freak? Try Andoku. A stylus might help though.
    - Bookworm? Kindle for Android is your friend. You will need good eyesight to read the print!
    - No friends? Log on to FaceBook with Facebook for Android app (or Twitter, or Google+, or FourSquare).
    - Never get lost on the London Underground, or indeed anywhere in the UK again. There are various map and navigation apps available for free download.
    - Beware! The preloaded mp3 player won't play all formats of music file (wma seem to be a problem). I downloaded the Poweramp player app which copes with all formats and is a pretty good player to boot. There's a fre version but I splashed out a couple of squid for the full version. Niiiice.

    Do bear in mind that all these apps eat up your phone's memory and it may start to creak at the seams if you install all of those.

    Battery life is pi$$-poor. This is the only down-side to the device - I'm guessing that it's a standard issue with any smart-phone - and you'll be charging the phone pretty much every night. You can extend it's life by switching off GPS, wi-fi and various other bits and bobs but even that will only improve matters a little bit. Download a power management app to help out yet further (Juice Defender, for instance) but beware! it may switch off certain functions (the 3G signal for instance!) in its bid to save electrons and you will then have to remember to switch them back on again when you need them. Alternatively, buy a car charger - they're dirt cheap - so that you can use GPS in the car without losing power half-way through your journey.

    All in all, I am dead chuffed to have made the move to a smart-phone and this is as good a place as any to start. Cheap but not nasty, entry-level but not tragic. Functional but simple.
  9. 21 of 25 people found this review helpful
     Poor Service and lack of customer support 21 January, 2013 On Amazon.co.uk
    This item was purchased from GSM-Fonz and stopped working after 30 days, unfortunately the guarantee was for 30 days and GSM-Fonz were not contacted until after 31 days, this meant the phone did not meet their guarantee. Their only suggestion was to contact Samsung but they would do nothing!
    Amazon have been very silent about the whole process and have not been helpful at all.
    I do not know enough about the phone to be able to comment on its' usability but the service on offer is quite shocking. After purchasing many items from Amazon and not tried to return anything I doubt I will buy anything from them in the future. I will stick with business's where the guarantees are genuine and where customer service comes first.
  10. 1 of 1 people found this review helpful
     Christmas gift 15 December, 2013 On Amazon.co.uk
    The phone is just what my daughter wanted so she will be thrilled when she opens her present on Christmas day
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 5 | Next ›
  1. Most Helpful First
  2. |
  3. Newest First