Customer Reviews on Amazon.com

(317 reviews)
4.4 out of 5 stars
‹ Previous | 1 2 ... 32 | Next ›
  1. Most Helpful First
  2. |
  3. Newest First
  1.  The radio body itself is of very good quality. The various knobs fit tight and snug ... 19 October, 2014 On Amazon.com
    The radio body itself is of very good quality. The various knobs fit tight and snug and feel good to rotate. Good care went into the design of this.

    The same cannot be said about the handheld microphone. It feels like they put it together as cheaply as they could. It just doesn't have the same quality feel as the rest of the product. Works fine, just could feel better.
  2.  Clear Value 18 October, 2014 On Amazon.com
    This lightweight but quality unit has the clarity and features I need to stay in touch with fellow Jeep dudes on our trail runs. The tiny speaker in the Midland handheld I'd been using just got too frustrating to listen to; this is a much better way to communicate.

    Combined with the Firestik Fire-Ring stud and cable and a 3' Firefly antenna it's a rock solid two-way, for not much more total investment than a quality handheld.
  3. 2 of 3 people found this review helpful
     Very disappointed in the quality of product and even more disappointed ... 15 October, 2014 On Amazon.com
    Radio died after 2 months of light use. Very disappointed in the quality of product and even more disappointed in the quality or lack of customer service from Uniden. Although item is under warranty, good luck getting though to a CS rep to get a claim filed. I have called a handful of times, sat on hold for over an hour each time, and never reached a rep. Are you guys really that busy? How about you hire some more reps! Very disappointed that I threw my money in the trash. Will never buy another Uniden product again.
  4. 1 of 1 people found this review helpful
     Five Stars 14 October, 2014 On Amazon.com
    Good all around radio, it's small and easy to mount anywhere. Good sound, just what I needed.
  5. 0 of 1 people found this review helpful
     The first one of these I got in the mail ... 14 October, 2014 On Amazon.com
    The first one of these I got in the mail didn't work, it didn't even power on. I returned it and was shipped a new one the next day, its still running strong!
  6. 1 of 1 people found this review helpful
     Great product, works much better and is much more ... 12 October, 2014 On Amazon.com
    Great product, works much better and is much more clear than the cobra I had. Worth the extra 10 or 15 dollars…much better quality
  7. 0 of 2 people found this review helpful
     Good radio, but may not have been new, and may have been tampered with! 9 October, 2014 On Amazon.com
    I like the radio, BUT for some reason it only has a 1.8 Watt carrier? I also bought the PRO510XL model, and it has a 3.8 Watt carrier, so I don't know if something is wrong with it from the factory, or if it's a returned radio that somebody has turned down the power to be used with an amplifier because it seems to work fine otherwise.
  8. 1 of 1 people found this review helpful
     Five Stars 7 October, 2014 On Amazon.com
    Great little CB small compact , satisfied with my purchase . Thanks :)
  9. 1 of 1 people found this review helpful
     Five Stars 4 October, 2014 On Amazon.com
    Great product ... Easy to install and use... Great range!
  10.  It's fine for my purposes. 30 September, 2014 On Amazon.com
    This is my first CB radio. Beforehand, I had absolutely no experience with them. I bought this one because it was inexpensive and had favorable reviews. I decided to buy a CB for traffic and emergency purposes, so I don't use it regularly. I drive a hatchback subcompact car, not a pickup truck with a high suspension or mud tires; therefore, I don't plan to take this CB off-road or in densely-wooded areas. So far, no huge surprises or disappointments.

    It comes with a simple mounting bracket, a clip for your microphone, a few screws, and a power cable. The power cable was only about 3 feet long: not long enough to actually reach my car battery. Whatever. I spliced in some wire I already had, and added two alligator clips so I could hard-wire the radio to the battery and disconnect it quickly if need be. As mentioned earlier, I drive a small car, which isn't conducive to mounting CB radios. I ended up mounting it under my glovebox. The included screws were not nearly long enough for my purposes. They were supposedly self-tapping, which means you can physicall drill the screw into the mounting surface of your choice and they should stay put. Not the case for me. They fell right out after a small tug. Whatever. I instead used machine bolts I already had with nuts and washers.

    The instruction manual was easy to read, but not very in-depth regarding how to mount the CB. Whatever. I'm not a stupid person, and I figured it out. The manual was just fine in explaining how to operate the radio.

    For my purposes, it is loud enough, and I don't need an external speaker. But again, I don't drive a semi or a monster truck. If your vehicle is louder than mine, you may need a speaker. Out of curiosity, I plugged it into my car's auxiliary jack. I didn't notice any improvement in volume or sound quality. Whatever. It sounds just fine to me by itself.

    I am able to transmit and receive signals, but rarely. Most of the time I just hear static, noise, and garbled transmissions. When I turn up the squelch control to filter out noises, I rarely hear anything at all. I'm assuming this is either because I'm not near any CB owners or my antenna isn't good enough. The analog switch works in improving the sound quality of incoming transmissions.

    I use this CB with a 3-foot Firestick antenna mounted on a Firestik heavy-duty spring and a Firestik magnet mount.
‹ Previous | 1 2 ... 32 | Next ›
  1. Most Helpful First
  2. |
  3. Newest First