Select Your City
Where China Meets India: Burma and the New Crossroads of Asia

Where China Meets India: Burma and the New Crossroads of Asia

Lowest online price: 450.00 383 (15% off)
Language English
Contributor(s) Thant Myint-U
Binding Paperback
See all details
Format
Price Starts at
Paperback
383.00

Where China Meets India: Burma and the New Crossroads of Asia Price from 1 Online Seller

Seller Seller Rating Est. Delivery Price Buying Options

0 out of 5.0 stars

  1. 5 star (0)
  2. 4 star (0)
  3. 3 star (0)
  4. 2 star (0)
  5. 1 star (0)
2 – 4 days
383.00 FREE Shipping
See a problem with these offers?
Buy the Where China Meets India: Burma and the New Crossroads of Asia from Amazon.in Marketplace.
The lowest price on Junglee by Amazon for the Where China Meets India: Burma and the New Crossroads of Asia is 383.00 from Amazon.in Marketplace.

Related Items Sold By Other Customers

Overview: Where China Meets India: Burma and the New Crossroads of Asia

Key Features Where China Meets India is a vivid, searching, and timely book about a remote region that is suddenly becoming a geopolitical center of the world. An essential book on globalisation sure to appeal to readers of George Monbiot and Joseph Stieglitz. Burma has seldom ever been in there global news as much as it has of late, making this a very timely publication. About the Book: Where China Meets India: Burma and the New Crossroads of AsiaFrom their very beginnings, the civilizations of China and Indiahave been walled off from each other, not only by the toweringsummits of the Himalayas, but also by the vast and impenetrablejungle, hostile tribes, and remote inland kingdoms that oncestretched a thousand miles from Calcutta across Burma to the upperYangtze River. In the next few years this last great frontier willlikely vanish forests cut down, dirt roads replaced bysuperhighways, insurgencies ended leaving China and India exposedto each other as never before. This basic shift in geography is asprofound as the opening of the Suez Canal.What will this change mean Thant MyintU is in a uniqueposition to know. Over the past few years he has travelledextensively across this vast territory. In a region oflongforgotten kingdoms and modernday wars, highspeed trains andgleaming new shopping malls have now come within striking distanceof the last remaining Forests and impoverished mountaincommunities. And he has pondered the new strategic centrality ofBurma, the country of his ancestry, where Asias two rising giantpowers China and India appear to be vying for supremacy. Parttravelogue, part history, part investigation, Where China MeetsIndia takes us across the fastchanging Asian frontier, giving us amasterful account of the regions long and rich history and itssudden significance for the rest of the world. About the Author: Thant Myint-UThant Myint-U was educated at Harvard and Cambridge Universitiesand later taught history for sev
Product Details
Language English
Publication Date September 1, 2012
Publisher Faber
Contributor(s) Thant Myint-U
Binding Paperback
Edition Main
Page Count 384
ISBN 10 0571239641
ISBN 13 9780571239641
Dimensions and Weight
Product Dimensions 12.5 cm x 2.5 cm x 20 cm
Post Ad books
 

Customer Reviews on Where China Meets India: Burma and the New Crossroads of Asia

  1. 5 star (3)
  2. 4 star (3)
  3. 3 star (4)
  4. 2 star (0)
  5. 1 star (1)
Overall Rating 3.6 out of 5 stars
(11)
Write a review
Reviews by source
Amazon.co.uk
(11)