Mumbai

Customer Reviews on Amazon.com

(1,510 reviews)
4.8 out of 5 stars
See all reviews ›

Showing 2-star reviews

  1. Most Helpful First
  2. |
  3. Newest First
  1. 0 of 1 people found this review helpful
     SAD BUT EPIC 9 July, 2013 On Amazon.com
    Format:Kindle Edition
    I like how there is so much action in the book but I hated how there were so many deaths like Bekendorfs and Luke's otherwise it was an awesome book series. :) I <3 Percy Jackson
    (Or as Mr. D would call him, Peter Johnson.) :D
  2. 0 of 3 people found this review helpful
     5 16 February, 2013 On Amazon.com
    Format:Kindle Edition
    This book tells the story of my life this book is a gb good book because it has a storyline
  3. 0 of 2 people found this review helpful
     Eh 2 February, 2013 On Amazon.com
    Format:Kindle Edition
    I don't really like this one I think this is the worst one I really couldn't pay attention to the story unlike the other ones
  4. 0 of 4 people found this review helpful
     Dissapointed... 31 March, 2012 On Amazon.com
    Format:Paperback
    I ordered this book to give as a gift to my best friend. I was displeased to find that when I received the package and opened it, the spine was all cracked looking. Keep in mind I bought it "new"... I have bought many products on amazon but I was strongly disappointed to have gone throught this experience because usually I have absolutely no problems.
  5. 2 of 7 people found this review helpful
     The Great Prophecy? 7 June, 2011 On Amazon.com
    Format:Kindle Edition
    OK, the whole thing is fun. I like the series and love his jokes.

    My disappointment with this series is the prophecy. I would have rated the book 5 stars if not for it.

    OK. On page 50, Percy reads it from a parchment:
    "A half-blood of the eldest gods
    shall reach sixteen against all odds
    and see the world in endless sleep.
    The hero's soul, cursed blade shall reap.
    A single choice shall end his days.
    Olympus to preserve or raze."

    Given that this prophecy has been built up since book 1, the interpretation at the end is just unacceptable to me.

    **SPOILER** Here's Percy thinking over the meaning of the prophecy at the end.

    "As they left, I thought about the Great Prophecy. The lines now made sense to me. A hero's soul, cursed blade shall reap. The hero was Luke."

    WHAT? NO. The prophecy says "THE" hero's soul not "A" hero's soul. THEY ARE NOT THE SAME THING. So, Percy is a half-blood of the eldest gods mentioned in the first line. If it follows with THE hero's soul, then it must mean Percy's soul. But if it follows by A hero's soul, then it's someone else's soul. Everybody has been fussing and worrying in the whole time because it says THE and it means PERCY. That's how I understand it and everybody in the series understand it. You can't change the word around to mean someone else just like that.

    I do understand that sometimes prophecy may be vague and misunderstood and whatever. But I also expect every word of it to mean something and not to change to fit the events that happen later.

    Also the "HIS" in "a single choice shall end HIS days" should mean the said half-blood's and would suggest that the said half-blood is a boy. Why did they think it could be Thalia or Bianca?? (I know why, because the content of the prophecy was not revealed to READERS earlier so it seemed to us Thalia or Bianca could be the one. Well, us readers did not know by CHIRON knows. So this doesn't make any sense that Chiron and the gods would worry about the two girls.)

    **END SPOILER**
  6. 3 of 8 people found this review helpful
     I Just Don't Think This Book is So Great 7 December, 2010 On Amazon.com
    Format:Hardcover
    *** Warning: This review contains spoilers! ***

    I was disappointed in this final book of the series. I gave previous books in the series from 2 1/2 to 4 stars, but this one I really thought was the worst. I know it was written for a younger audience, and maybe my expectations were too high, but I just felt it was lacking in so many ways.

    As usual, there was too much re-cap in re-introducing characters. I guess there's value in making each book a stand-alone book, but I still think it could have been done more naturally, less explicitly.

    As the series progressed, both Annabeth and Percy became torn between two love interests, and I think Riordan did a good job portraying their feelings. However, Annabeth's hypocritical behavior was nothing short of bitchy. I am loath to use profanity, but that is honestly the best word to describe her. By the end, I was rooting for Rachel (who, by the way, became one of my favorite characters). Even after all the back-and-forth with Annabeth's emotions, the closing scenes didn't give her enough credit - with a repentant Luke dying in her arms, she tells him she didn't love him, even though she pined for him through all five books?! Whatever.

    Rachel's new-found clairvoyance was a nice development, but did Riordan have to do it à la Isaac Mendez from Heroes?

    All the characters remained too one-dimensional, and Riordan unfortunately passed up opportunities for some real character development. Clarisse is given a soft side via Chris and Silena, but she remained unapologetically hot-tempered, stubborn, and proud. Silena, for her part, made a valiant eleventh-hour push to help the heroes, but her role as spy was completely brushed aside, chalked up to her naiveté and Luke's manipulation. Apparently, since she was otherwise well-liked, there was no need to be concerned about the deaths her espionage caused, including that of her boyfriend Beckendorf.

    There was a definite annoyingly Harry Potter-esque moment when Percy wanted to contact Rachel but didn't know how to do it. Apparently, the most common means of mythological communication - the Iris-message - slipped his mind.

    Throughout most of the story, the heroes are fully engaged in a war with the Titans, and much of the book describes one battle scene after another. Unfortunately, rather than making the reader feel as if he is caught up in the action as well, the battle descriptions read more like matter-of-fact reporting. And, as usual, there's a lot of being saved at the last minute by an unexpected third party.

    At the close of the series, I was unimpressed with the entire story arc. The Titan lord Kronos was re-formed only because of Luke's actions, and in the end, it was Luke himself who saved the world from Kronos. It just seems kind of lame that the potential ruin of the known world, and it's savior, came down to one person changing his mind.

    Finally, there was quite a bit of discussion about fate in the book, and how nobody, including Hermes, could have stopped Luke's fate. Love of friends, good education, not even better parenting could have helped Luke to make better decisions. This type of defeatism really bothered me, especially since the intended audience is middle schoolers; I don't like the idea of giving impressionable youth the message that no matter what they do, no matter what their parents do, no matter what path they take in life, they have one undeniable and immutable fate.
  7. 0 of 12 people found this review helpful
     definitely the worst in the series 7 September, 2010 On Amazon.com
    Format:Kindle Edition
    i really liked the first books because they were funny and had a good plot. this one was terrible though. i thought it was boring and predictable with very little humor. i couldnt even finish it! dont get this book its a waste of your money and time.
  8. 1 of 39 people found this review helpful
     Not new 21 October, 2009 On Amazon.com
    Format:Hardcover
    This book said that the condition was new, but it had a big sharpie mark across the pages.
  9. 13 of 59 people found this review helpful
     Harry Potter knockoff 1 July, 2009 On Amazon.com
    Format:Hardcover
    While I liked the first book in this series, it has become progressively more and more an obvious ripoff of Harry P., so much so that this installment was almost painful to read. Our hero, a genetically superior teen with the power to see the magical world all around us hidden from the rest of us Muggles, lives with other similar teens in a special, separate environment where they are being trained how to best use their magical powers by, among other creatures, a centaur. Our hero uses magical creatures as well as shadows to transport himself around the world and leads the fight against the power of evil that is intent on destroying civilization. Our hero also just happens to be the ostensible subject of an ancient prophecy. The teens have to all join forces to try to deal with the forces of evil but there is a traitor among them. Yada yada yada. We've heard all this before, except that this book has none of the characterization, humor, or camaraderie of the Rowling series.
  1. Most Helpful First
  2. |
  3. Newest First