Customer Reviews on Amazon.com

(15,821 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
  1. 5 star (11,926)
  2. 4 star (2,834)
  3. 3 star (711)
  4. 2 star (198)
  5. 1 star (152)
See all reviews ›

Showing 4-star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 2 ... 284 | Next ›
  1. Most Helpful First
  2. |
  3. Newest First
  1.  Catching fire 26 February, 2015 On Amazon.com
    Format:Kindle Edition
    Makes you wonder if book three will be as interesting I hope so.On to book three. Enjoy all of them.
  2.  Book is better then the movie 25 February, 2015 On Amazon.com
    Format:Kindle Edition
    This is the second of the three books. I thought the first book was better but catching fire was done well too. I just wish they didn't kill off the main character at the end.
  3.  Four Stars 25 February, 2015 On Amazon.com
    Format:Kindle Edition
    Not as good as Hunger Games but still intriguing.
  4.  Still Dark and Disturbing 25 February, 2015 On Amazon.com
    Format:Kindle Edition
    Catching Fire is the second book of the Hunger Games Trilogy. Though Collins has done a tremendous job of weaving back story into her second book, I think you need to read book I, The Hunger Games, to get the most from book II. And don’t go into Book II thinking it will satisfy your curiosity. Everyone in Oprah’s book club could hang off this cliff with room to spare.

    Catching Fire is a fast-paced page-turner, and no less disturbing than The Hunger Games. In fact, it’s probably more disquieting. It’s one of those “just-when-you-thought-it-was-safe-to-go-back-into-the-woods” type of stories. But it’s not over and Catching Fire is but a lily pad on the trip across the pond.

    Collins’s imagination tops the scales in her depiction of the arena in this second book. It’s clever and creative and I can’t wait to see how Book III, Mocking Jay, ends this dark and disturbing series.
  5.  It was hard to put the book down. 24 February, 2015 On Amazon.com
    Format:Kindle Edition
    The story kept me hooked on continuing to read it. The story moved from seen to seen. The characters were believable and there interactions worked well.
  6.  I read this triology at my Goddaughter's urging. One ... 22 February, 2015 On Amazon.com
    Format:Kindle Edition
    I read this triology at my Goddaughter's urging. One I started the first, I felt compelled to finished all three. I had to get past the the disturbing idea that someone would use innocent children to subjugate their parents. There were some interesting twists, but it was a fairly predictable story line. I'm not sure if I want to see this played out on screen. Though I think that there were enough issues/topics to be gleaned from the story to fuel my discussions with my Goddaughter.
  7.  enjoyable read 21 February, 2015 On Amazon.com
    Format:Kindle Edition
    I hope this doesn't happen to our world. This book didn't change my life, but it was an enjoyable read.
  8.  Victoria's review of The hunger games trilogy. 20 February, 2015 On Amazon.com
    Format:Kindle Edition
    Cannot sleep untill I turn the next page. Kudos to Suzzanne for her strong characters and captivating plot. You owe me for lost sleep! Can't wait for more!
  9.  Excting 17 February, 2015 On Amazon.com
    Format:Hardcover
    I confess I bought this mostly for my grandson but I did read it, too. He loved it as he did the entire series. I liked it. It is a bit unusual and have some pretty awful scenes in it that stayed in my mind. Suzanne Collins can really write tough. She truly got a lot of teens fired up (play on words) with this series. Anytime you can get teen-agers to read, you have done a really good job. This book is full of chills and thrills.
  10.  If you ever thought the capitol would get any better than it was 12 February, 2015 On Amazon.com
    Format:Kindle Edition
    If you ever thought the capitol would get any better than it was, well you were undeniably wrong.

    The story Catching Fire is about a young, intriguing girl named Katniss Everdeen who lives in a not so organized capitol. Catching Fire starts with her past rebellious actions blowing up in her face. President Snow approaches Katniss and informs her that some individuals have interpreted Katniss and Peeta’s relationship as a clever trick. Ever since the games, Katniss and Peeta have been faking a romantic relationship and it just isn’t that believable anymore. Katniss is now a very wealthy person while her best friend Gale is not. She tries to help him out but, Gale is devoted to supporting his family on his own. Katniss soon after the games is forced to go on Victory Tour which she really isn’t looking forward to. President Snow tells her that while on the tour, she must convince everyone that her little “stunt” with the berries during the games was truly just an act of young love. One of the symbols of rebellion was the Mockingjay and Katniss wore a pin with a Mockingjay on it during the seventy-fourth Hunger Games.

    What I liked about this book and why I would highly recommend it to anyone all over the world is because it catches your attention with every aspect of the book in the blink of an eye. Catching Fire is the kind of book you can’t just set down and not wonder what’s going to happen next. This book keeps you on your feet. I would recommend this book for everyone no matter what kind of books you are into. This is a book that pleases everyone. Catching Fire is truly “one of a kind.”
    by Haley, 7th grade
‹ Previous | 1 2 ... 284 | Next ›
  1. Most Helpful First
  2. |
  3. Newest First