Customer Reviews on Amazon.com

(15,718 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
  1. 5 star (11,844)
  2. 4 star (2,821)
  3. 3 star (705)
  4. 2 star (196)
  5. 1 star (152)
See all reviews ›

Showing 4-star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 2 ... 283 | Next ›
  1. Most Helpful First
  2. |
  3. Newest First
  1.  Hunger Games,#1 is better, but I still recommend this book :) 26 January, 2015 On Amazon.com
    Format:Kindle Edition
    The Hunger Games 2 was not as good as the first book, but this is still good to read as a Hunger Games fan. Suzanne, keep up the good work with these wonderful Hunger Games books. Unlike the first book, I like the movie better than the movie.
  2.  Four Stars 25 January, 2015 On Amazon.com
    Format:Kindle Edition
    Good book
  3.  Caithness on fire 25 January, 2015 On Amazon.com
    Format:Kindle Edition
    It was good, I chose this rating because it held my interest. It was hard to put down the book.
  4.  This was a gift to a family member who is ... 24 January, 2015 On Amazon.com
    Format:Kindle Edition
    This was a gift to a family member who is an avid reader of this author, so I can't comment.
  5.  Four Stars 24 January, 2015 On Amazon.com
    Format:Hardcover
    SO much better than the movie.
  6.  Meh 23 January, 2015 On Amazon.com
    Format:Kindle Edition
    Good enough, better than the movie. Whoever narrates it is wickedly awful, don't recommend that unless your stuck in the tub.
  7.  Masterful journey through a dismal grey future 22 January, 2015 On Amazon.com
    Format:Kindle Edition
    I originally wasn't going to read this book - I read it as prep for letting my son read it. I read the first one in the series, and decided that while it was excellently told, it wasn't necessarily a story I wanted to read more of. Wanting closure nonetheless, I'd read various summaries to see what was happened in the rest of the series. Thusly, I already knew what was going to happen in this book.

    However - the difference between knowing what was going to happen, and reading as Suzanne Collins' wonderful prose fills it all out is the difference between seeing one of those "paint by numbers" outlines, knowing what the picture is going to end up being, and then seeing it after it's been painted by an expert. The shading, the vibrant colors. The book _really_ draws you in, makes you feel Katniss' stubbornness, her heartache, her struggles. Even though I knew what would happen, it still drew me deeply in, made me nervous for those involved, made me ache as the characters ached.

    This is a wonderfully written book. However, as a warning, it's a vibrantly filled in story about a very dystopian world. If that's not your thing, this story isn't going to change your mind. But if you want an immersive trip through a dark world, this series is what you're looking for.
  8.  Catching fire 21 January, 2015 On Amazon.com
    Format:Kindle Edition
    Excellent read! Kept my attention an couldn't put it down. Would recommend to anyone over the age of 12.

    Star rating
    ****
  9.  Worth reading 20 January, 2015 On Amazon.com
    Format:Paperback
    The later half is much better than the first half of the book.
  10.  Catching Fire 19 January, 2015 On Amazon.com
    Format:Kindle Edition
    This sequel to The Hunger Games was just as riviting as the original book. I can't wait to read the final book.
‹ Previous | 1 2 ... 283 | Next ›
  1. Most Helpful First
  2. |
  3. Newest First