Mumbai

Customer Reviews on Amazon.com

(31,577 reviews)
4.4 out of 5 stars
  1. 5 star (21,221)
  2. 4 star (5,837)
  3. 3 star (2,470)
  4. 2 star (1,136)
  5. 1 star (913)
See all reviews ›

Showing 4-star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 2 ... 584 | Next ›
  1. Most Helpful First
  2. |
  3. Newest First
  1.  Four Stars 22 August, 2014 On Amazon.com
    Format:Kindle Edition
    great book, really great ending.
  2.  AWESOME!! 22 August, 2014 On Amazon.com
    Format:Kindle Edition
    One of the best books ever I especially loved how Peers gets hijacked and I never saw what happened to prim coming but you will have to read to find all excitement for your self
  3.  like it 22 August, 2014 On Amazon.com
    Format:Kindle Edition
    great storyline
  4.  Strong til the end! 22 August, 2014 On Amazon.com
    Format:Kindle Edition
    Worth reading! After all she endured, So happy she stayed strong and true to her feelings and realized who really had her back!!!!
  5.  Four Stars 21 August, 2014 On Amazon.com
    Format:Audio CD
    Enjoyed listening to it during my commute. Donated it to a 6th grade class. They were so excited!
  6.  Maybe it's just my disappointment at the series ending 21 August, 2014 On Amazon.com
    Format:Kindle Edition
    Maybe it's just my disappointment at the series ending, but this seemed weak compared to the first two books. You're going to read this if you've read the other two.
  7.  Mockingjay 21 August, 2014 On Amazon.com
    Format:Kindle Edition
    Mockingjay was a excellent book to end the hunger games trilogy. I strongly suggest to read this book. It is quite long but an extraordinary read!
  8.  moping a bit 21 August, 2014 On Amazon.com
    Format:Kindle Edition
    The writing is really nice in spots, but the character spends a ton of time lying about, moping. I can't figure out how such a person actually comes to be good at athletic activities if she spends so much of her time in bed. I get the reason. I just don't get how that sustains her. And hey, we readers do like a proactive protagonist. I'm just saying.
    Anyway, it was a nice read half the time, and I respect the writer. It's just the weak characterization on the part of the one person that drained me a tad.
  9.  The audiobook is really good! 21 August, 2014 On Amazon.com
    Format:Audio CD
    I really enjoyed this audiobook like I did the first book. The audiobook is again read by Carolyn McCormick whose voice brings life to several of the characters, which is a nice touch unlike some monotone audiobooks out there.
  10.  Pacing issues, but still an engaging read 20 August, 2014 On Amazon.com
    Format:Kindle Edition
    It’s always tricky to review a novel that has had so much hype surrounding it, and Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins is no exception. We continue from where things were left off in book one for our plucky heroine, Katniss Everdeen, who discovers that her reward as victor of the Hunger Games is not all it’s cracked up to be.

    She’d hoped to enjoy a life of quiet comfort with her family, and perhaps pursue her intended love interest, Gale, but there’s the not-so-small matter of her much-televised engagement to Peeta. And, of course, the rather dastardly President Snow, who’s coercing her to get married.

    In surviving the Hunger Games, Katniss has unwittingly become the figurehead of a rebellion and the districts are on the verge of open revolt. She has no choice but to go along with Snow’s plans, because he has threatened her loved ones.

    While the first half of the story leads you to believe that Katniss will begin to get actively involved in overthrowing the Capitol, she and all the victors from the past 25 years find themselves swept up in a Reaping again – this time as unwilling participants in the Quarter Quell games.

    In this sense, Catching Fire is doomed to repeat the theme of The Hunger Games and doesn’t cover much in the way of new ground. It lacks some of the uncertainty and tension that we faced in the first book.

    Once again, and perhaps regrettably so, Katniss is robbed of the opportunity to explore the moral issues surrounding the act of having to kill others to survive while providing entertainment for the masses. This time it is thanks to a hostile arena that conveniently does the killing on players’ behalf – verging on deus ex machina to a degree. When she does kill, the act hardly seems to make a dent on her emotionally or intellectually and the victim is reduced to a mere name.

    As a character, Katniss doesn’t grow much; she is still as self-absorbed as she was in The Hunger Games and I was often left wondering about what redeeming qualities (beyond her propensity for self-sacrifice to save others) she possessed. Her childish outbursts at key moments didn’t make me warm to her either. I suspect she appeals to readers in her blandness, as a sort of everywoman.

    Catching Fire is still an engaging read despite pacing issues of the first half, touching on many issues that make dystopian settings so fascinating.
‹ Previous | 1 2 ... 584 | Next ›
  1. Most Helpful First
  2. |
  3. Newest First