‹ Previous | 1 2 ... 7 | Next ›
  1. Most Helpful First
  2. |
  3. Newest First
Mumbai

Customer Reviews on Junglee.com

‹ Previous | 1 2 ... 7 | Next ›
  1. Most Helpful First
  2. |
  3. Newest First
  1. 0 of 1 people found this review helpful
     An ordinary book 12 July, 2014 On Junglee.com
    I would rate this as very ordinary novel and the Indian mythology has been presented in a quite dramatic fashion. I respect writer's fancy and imagination but I don't buy the association of any kind of reality with this narration. Somehow If you start associating with this religion , this might offend you but if you think "Shiva" as a character and a worldly figure , would come to terms with this depiction.
    If you have watched "Lord of the Rings" and Harry Potter " movies which are again the results of great research and imagination as in case of Lord of the Ring where Tolkien did great research on Elves , Hobbits and Ogres, you would have treated this book in a very ordinary fashion. the Outrageous response is just because that Indian audience is not exposed to such glorified picturesque narration of mythology.
    It might help the adrenaline rush in teens and people who are tending towards maturity and consciousness but I believe that intelligentsia will not buy anything presented in this book.
    This is fiction best concocted with mythology ever seen and the story telling style is kind of a movie which actually attracts the reader however there is nothing special in the plot but events and dialogues make this different.
    A little infusion of sensuality has also been chosen by the author to appeal readers who are still used to watch movies that have got sex and action both elements , its very Indian novel.
    Thank you for your feedback Was this review helpful to you?
  2.  PARVAAZ of my imagination 6 July, 2014 On Junglee.com
    Its an awesome book. Not for a moment but for the whole time I was wondering in the lands of maluha while reading it. After HARRY POTTER series, I was finding it hard to have the same effect as it did and I'm really glad its an Indian author.
    Thank you for your feedback Was this review helpful to you?
  3.  The best book 10 June, 2014 On Junglee.com
    This is the best book I have read after a long time. The characters are depicted very nicely and the story does not slow down anywhere . Though the entire story story is setup in the vedic ages, there is a scientific explanation to all the miracles that happens in the story
    Thank you for your feedback Was this review helpful to you?
  4.  divine read! 8 June, 2014 On Junglee.com
    A fresh perspective to the old mythology. Shiva's story is presented in a very interesting tale as he is portrayed like today's youth !
    Thank you for your feedback Was this review helpful to you?
  5.  Super Awesome Imagination 8 June, 2014 On Junglee.com
    I read this book with skepticism but in the end i came to love it like it was written only to thrill and impart knowledge. The story speaks of a common man becoming a legend. The way the events enfold and make him a legend are perfectly constructed so that they make appropriate sense.
    Thank you for your feedback Was this review helpful to you?
  6.  A might tale of mighty Shiva... 8 June, 2014 On Junglee.com
    I picked up this book out of curiosity, to know, why is there so much hype, what all this fuss is about, but when I actually started reading, then found myself into another world, that ancient India with different flavours...Amish had done a wonderful job, he is a great storyteller,
    Now I am going to read the sequel...we all are the mighty Shiva... Love it :)

    Vibhu Ashok
    [...]
    Thank you for your feedback Was this review helpful to you?
  7.  Fast paced and interesting 8 June, 2014 On Junglee.com
    ** spoiler alert ** I don't think I have read any mythological fiction before and this as a first wasn't a bad start. Hope to finish the trilogy in next few months.

    I recall the craze about Shiva trilogy while in college, especially among the folks at LH ;). Written using very simple words, the book re-imagines Shiva as a man and describes his journey in the strange and unfamiliar world of Meluha and beyond. The revelation near the end is an eye opener and makes one think about the fine balance necessary between a disciplined culture and individual freedom.

    Liked the fact that the author has the etymological information handy for most of the Hindi words used in the content.
    Thank you for your feedback Was this review helpful to you?
  8.  It's an amazing book 7 June, 2014 On Junglee.com
    For once in the beginning I never thought that a story like this could exist. The author imagines lord shiva as a common man who lives among us and becomes a savior of the society. This story shows us the about the sophistication of our industry Valley civilization and imagines that lord Shiva existed during those times. When I read the about the battle, I felt my presence there because of the meticulous details the author has explained. Overall the story keeps you alive till the end.
    Thank you for your feedback Was this review helpful to you?
  9.  A must read to know about our India. Worth reading. 24 May, 2014 On Junglee.com
    Hello Bibiliophiles,
    Are you a lover of philosophy, history, religion, mythology?
    Have a desire to know about the past?

    Then it is best to have a start at Amish's The Immortals of Meluha. You will definitely end up with his third book.

    I have great interest in the above mentioned things. Though the book is a fiction it contains so many facts like the way of living of Harrappan people, our ancient rivers, their mode of worship etc. The author has excellently blended the story with some facts and has made us to visualise Lord Shiva infront of us and sometimes we tend to feel as if we are a part of the story and living in that age. Such is the author's writing excellency. Amish can be called as Dan Brown of India.

    Those who has read my review are sure to be inclined towards getting this book and have a good read.
    Thank you for your feedback Was this review helpful to you?
  10.  Shiva Redefined 13 May, 2014 On Junglee.com
    Anyone who loves Mythology / Fantasy / Adventure genre is sure to love this epic trilogy by Amish, his storytellling, narration & humor just blends in perfectly with everything. One will be astonished with the way the author fused the Indian mythology with his own imagination & research. This one is a must read :)
    Thank you for your feedback Was this review helpful to you?
‹ Previous | 1 2 ... 7 | Next ›
  1. Most Helpful First
  2. |
  3. Newest First