‹ Previous | 1 2 ... 7 | Next ›
  1. Most Helpful First
  2. |
  3. Newest First

Customer Reviews on Junglee.com

‹ Previous | 1 2 ... 7 | Next ›
  1. Most Helpful First
  2. |
  3. Newest First
  1.  Awesome Read 9 August, 2014 On Junglee.com
    It's a great read. Yes, it gives a little Bollywood feel, but it's brilliant. You can't stop reading it till you finish it. And the moment you finish it, you crave for the sequel.

    Kudos to the Amish for the good story. Though everything feels like it's an adaptation from the mythology, the story is totally different and fresh.
    Thank you for your feedback Was this review helpful to you?
  2.  great book 2 August, 2014 On Junglee.com
    this book awesome i read it when my sister give it to me but i could not stop when i started reading this book facebook this book brings all the god into human form witches the most acceptable nice written format i accept this book because in hinduism we believe everything to be sacred forefathers grandparents father mother brother and sister are considered to be holy and they are all to be considered god so if we are ready to pray them. so i think siva was a great great leader so there's nothing wrong in bring them to human form so this book has done a great job daughter has taken great care describing each personality of shiva parvati ganesh karthik and so on read an enjoy
    Thank you for your feedback Was this review helpful to you?
  3. 0 of 1 people found this review helpful
     An ordinary book 12 July, 2014 On Junglee.com
    I would rate this as very ordinary novel and the Indian mythology has been presented in a quite dramatic fashion. I respect writer's fancy and imagination but I don't buy the association of any kind of reality with this narration. Somehow If you start associating with this religion , this might offend you but if you think "Shiva" as a character and a worldly figure , would come to terms with this depiction.
    If you have watched "Lord of the Rings" and Harry Potter " movies which are again the results of great research and imagination as in case of Lord of the Ring where Tolkien did great research on Elves , Hobbits and Ogres, you would have treated this book in a very ordinary fashion. the Outrageous response is just because that Indian audience is not exposed to such glorified picturesque narration of mythology.
    It might help the adrenaline rush in teens and people who are tending towards maturity and consciousness but I believe that intelligentsia will not buy anything presented in this book.
    This is fiction best concocted with mythology ever seen and the story telling style is kind of a movie which actually attracts the reader however there is nothing special in the plot but events and dialogues make this different.
    A little infusion of sensuality has also been chosen by the author to appeal readers who are still used to watch movies that have got sex and action both elements , its very Indian novel.
    Thank you for your feedback Was this review helpful to you?
  4.  PARVAAZ of my imagination 6 July, 2014 On Junglee.com
    Its an awesome book. Not for a moment but for the whole time I was wondering in the lands of maluha while reading it. After HARRY POTTER series, I was finding it hard to have the same effect as it did and I'm really glad its an Indian author.
    Thank you for your feedback Was this review helpful to you?
  5. 0 of 1 people found this review helpful
     The best book 10 June, 2014 On Junglee.com
    This is the best book I have read after a long time. The characters are depicted very nicely and the story does not slow down anywhere . Though the entire story story is setup in the vedic ages, there is a scientific explanation to all the miracles that happens in the story
    Thank you for your feedback Was this review helpful to you?
  6.  divine read! 8 June, 2014 On Junglee.com
    A fresh perspective to the old mythology. Shiva's story is presented in a very interesting tale as he is portrayed like today's youth !
    Thank you for your feedback Was this review helpful to you?
  7. 1 of 1 people found this review helpful
     Super Awesome Imagination 8 June, 2014 On Junglee.com
    I read this book with skepticism but in the end i came to love it like it was written only to thrill and impart knowledge. The story speaks of a common man becoming a legend. The way the events enfold and make him a legend are perfectly constructed so that they make appropriate sense.
    Thank you for your feedback Was this review helpful to you?
  8.  A might tale of mighty Shiva... 8 June, 2014 On Junglee.com
    I picked up this book out of curiosity, to know, why is there so much hype, what all this fuss is about, but when I actually started reading, then found myself into another world, that ancient India with different flavours...Amish had done a wonderful job, he is a great storyteller,
    Now I am going to read the sequel...we all are the mighty Shiva... Love it :)

    Vibhu Ashok
    [...]
    Thank you for your feedback Was this review helpful to you?
  9.  Fast paced and interesting 8 June, 2014 On Junglee.com
    ** spoiler alert ** I don't think I have read any mythological fiction before and this as a first wasn't a bad start. Hope to finish the trilogy in next few months.

    I recall the craze about Shiva trilogy while in college, especially among the folks at LH ;). Written using very simple words, the book re-imagines Shiva as a man and describes his journey in the strange and unfamiliar world of Meluha and beyond. The revelation near the end is an eye opener and makes one think about the fine balance necessary between a disciplined culture and individual freedom.

    Liked the fact that the author has the etymological information handy for most of the Hindi words used in the content.
    Thank you for your feedback Was this review helpful to you?
  10.  It's an amazing book 7 June, 2014 On Junglee.com
    For once in the beginning I never thought that a story like this could exist. The author imagines lord shiva as a common man who lives among us and becomes a savior of the society. This story shows us the about the sophistication of our industry Valley civilization and imagines that lord Shiva existed during those times. When I read the about the battle, I felt my presence there because of the meticulous details the author has explained. Overall the story keeps you alive till the end.
    Thank you for your feedback Was this review helpful to you?
‹ Previous | 1 2 ... 7 | Next ›
  1. Most Helpful First
  2. |
  3. Newest First