Mumbai

Customer Reviews on Amazon.com

(196 reviews)
3.9 out of 5 stars
See all reviews ›

Showing 1-star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
  1. Most Helpful First
  2. |
  3. Newest First
  1.  Buy somthing else 11 May, 2014 On Amazon.com
    I decided to purchase this book after seeing the video trailer, I guess its unusual to have a video trailer for a book series but it looked good and the number of copy's sold lead me to believe it must be a good read.

    Shiva comes across in this book as being a dumb individual ruled by his emotions (not god material at all) he is almost, he is like a dog after the princess sati. poorly written and just a terrible book!
  2.  Spelling errors 17 January, 2014 On Amazon.com
    Format:Kindle Edition
    This kindle version has many spelling errors ; not something you wish to encounter while reading such a good book!
  3.  best avoided 4 September, 2013 On Amazon.com
    Piques interest when book starts......gradually dissolves into 2 sub plots- shiv-parvati loves story and a war. It does not have enough content for a short story. Most hilarious part is the idea of an orphanage(where infants are left behind after birth and brought up independently of parents). Neither historically true and also goes totally against proven norms for welfare of kids...
    would have given zero stars if that was possible
  4. 2 of 3 people found this review helpful
     Awful 1 July, 2013 On Amazon.com
    This book is just plain awful. I bought it based on the hype and I am very disappointed with the amateurish writing. The setting and concept behind the book is interesting but there is no depth to the characters and the prose is below average.
  5. 1 of 1 people found this review helpful
     Extremely irritating read 8 June, 2013 On Amazon.com
    Format:Kindle Edition
    The meluhans had everything modern except perhaps an engine. How imaginative!!!
    How do you make your protagonist humourous too? Every inane line he utters, you classify it as a joke...
    How do you make a character become a best friend with the protagonist? You just say so, there is no need to show any development of the friendship...
    And sentences like "Dilipa had the dazed look of a child brutally knifed his beloved father" simply make my skin crawl!!!
  6. 6 of 7 people found this review helpful
     Horrible book 9 May, 2013 On Amazon.com
    This book is a total waste of time; go read something more substantial. I would not recommend this book to anyone to read.
  7. 2 of 3 people found this review helpful
     Nothing extraordinary ... 21 March, 2013 On Amazon.com
    Format:Kindle Edition
    Started reading with great hope and somehow managed to finish. I am still not able to fathom why is it generating so much interest. Over hyped!!!!!
    The protagonist hails from Tibet, and assists the Good people win over the so called bad people, only to realise in the end that the so-called bad people, are not bad, just different. Thank you Amish, but i did not find you different and would give the other two books a miss.
    On a positive note, the book made me re-learn many hindi words that had forgotten. Thoroughly enjoyed tha last 5 ages or so.
  8. 8 of 9 people found this review helpful
     think of bad Tinkle without pictures. 9 March, 2013 On Amazon.com
    Very average book. There are large portions which are nothing but banter between people and does not add any value to the storyline.
  9. 6 of 7 people found this review helpful
     Can't read this book ... poor language and imagination 3 March, 2013 On Amazon.com
    I tried many times to read this book but haven't been able to go beyond 40 pages.
    Poor language and expression - Don't buy this book reading all these reviews.

    Read some pages in amazon before making your decision.

    Since I couldn't read the book , so just gave it to a friend.
    I loved books like Life of Pi, The kite runner , Fountainhead , catcher in the rye etc.

    I am not hung on literature , but book should be readable . This book is not.
  10. 10 of 10 people found this review helpful
     Wonder why this book is such a big hit!!! 21 January, 2013 On Amazon.com
    Mix ancient Indian characters and cities' names with scenes and situations from Indian soaps, and dialogues from Indian comics. The result of this mixture is 'The immortals of Meluha'. A very disappointing read.

    This could have been such an excellent book if the subject was researched and presented well. I read the entire book just because I started it. Got the sequel too from the library.....but I wouldn't consider reading it.
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
  1. Most Helpful First
  2. |
  3. Newest First