Mumbai

Customer Reviews on Amazon.com

(196 reviews)
3.9 out of 5 stars
See all reviews ›

Showing 4-star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 2 ... 6 | Next ›
  1. Most Helpful First
  2. |
  3. Newest First
  1.  very interesting 16 July, 2014 On Amazon.com
    Format:Kindle Edition
    Very immersive and fresh. Kindle format has far too many spelling mistakes though. Hope it is corrected for future readers
  2.  I like it because it gives a feeling of reality 7 July, 2014 On Amazon.com
    Format:Kindle Edition
    Superb book. I like it because it gives a feeling of reality. A commendable work by a good author.
  3.  Nicely woven fiction around actual mythological characters. 11 June, 2014 On Amazon.com
    Format:Kindle Edition
    Interesting fiction built around mythological richness of India. The characters face dilemma at every step of their life and answer lies somewhere in their own minds. Loved the absolutely different interpretation of somras.
  4.  A gripping novel! 3 June, 2014 On Amazon.com
    Format:Kindle Edition
    The immortals of Meluha is a delectable concoction of romance, humour, mythological facts and of course some hardcore battlefield action. Amish has painted a real life version of Lord Shiva. Though some of the sermons were a bit irritating I loved this book and will recommend it to most of the people I know
  5.  great read 26 May, 2014 On Amazon.com
    Format:Kindle Edition
    Great read a bit confusing in places .would recommend to tHose who are enjoy reading fiction. Had to finish it
  6.  Good read ! 23 May, 2014 On Amazon.com
    Format:Kindle Edition
    Bought this one after reading a lot of raving reviews n loads of word of mouth compliments.
    Initial few pages have been very usual and at some point ot dint give me what I anticipated. But..Behold !!! Truly interesting twists to the story, unexpected characterization and very neatly carved role of most muthological characters.
    Well done !
    I would recommend a read to anyone who likes ancient times writings...like me
  7.  Gripping 15 May, 2014 On Amazon.com
    Format:Kindle Edition
    Never had I thought that a book would be written on this subject.
    I am nit an avid reader but am going tomread all three.
  8.  Good mythological fiction 30 March, 2014 On Amazon.com
    A man who becomes a God. This mythological novel traces the journey of one man, Shiva, Chief of the Gunas tribe, who, tired of constant battles with neighboring tribes, is persuaded by a Meluhan, to bring his whole tribe across the mountain to Meluha, promising a land of peace, beauty and organization.

    Upon arrival in Meluha, Shiva's tribe are all made to drink the somras and in doing so, Shiva's destiny emerges in the form of a cold blue light in his throat. He is the awaited Neelkanth, one that will rid the world of evil, if the legend is to be believed. But the challenge for the Emperor of Meluha is to get Shiva to accept that he is the Neelkanth and to accept his fate to save them from evil and then to accept that he is the Mahadev, the God of Gods.

    Mixing science with superstition, this novel highlights the depth of the Indian culture in 1900 BC and the development of the caste system.

    I think the author may have deliberately kept the dialogue light, especially that of Shiva, who sometimes comes across as a happy-go-lucky adolescent, to balance the often weighty philosophies delivered by the pandits or priests.

    Vastly entertaining.
  9.  An enchanting journey through the lives and work of ancient india 31 January, 2014 On Amazon.com
    Format:Kindle Edition
    If you love going to a different world and like to believe all that your parents and their parents have been telling, this one is for you. Its not mythology and neither is it a history lesson, it is a nice imagination based on facts and stories collated from various sources and observations. The author has rediscovered a genre which was neglected for a long time and the popularity brings out the fact that more of it is needed.
  10.  Great beginning 14 January, 2014 On Amazon.com
    Format:Kindle Edition
    Liked the book right from the start and it was a gripping tale. The only sour point was the contemporary language. You just can't imagine Shiva using it.
‹ Previous | 1 2 ... 6 | Next ›
  1. Most Helpful First
  2. |
  3. Newest First