Customer Reviews on Amazon.com

(839 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
See all reviews ›

Showing 4-star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 2 ... 11 | Next ›
  1. Most Helpful First
  2. |
  3. Newest First
  1. 44 of 47 people found this review helpful
     D7000 vs. D90 30 January, 2011 On Amazon.com
    The positives of the D7000 vs. D90 after two months of use:
    1. I shoot mainly indoor sports primarily high school jazz and high-kick dance routines in low and lousy light typically. This camera is considerably better than the D90 in this area. Very sharp and bright images with little or no noise up to ISO 6400. I generally use a Nikon f/2.8 70-200mm VR lens which yields excellent results.

    2. 100% image as shown in viewfinder.

    3. New extra dial that lets you store two completely different sets of camera settings. This makes switching between two modes especially fast when needed.

    The negatives (only applies if you expect to shoot many shots quickly and in raw)
    1. One of the things even the expert reviewers are missing is that this camera at 16MP creates around a 20MB raw file. This isn't a problem for general use but when shooting rapid fire or shooting every second or so the buffer fills up before writing out to the card. You can take up to 10 shots at any speed you wish but once it is full you have to wait several seconds to open space to continue or take fewer shots which is what I do to not miss that all important moment. I never had this issue with the D90 - I could shoot as rapid as I wanted. Granted the image is much better/larger and in 14 or 12 bit raw but be aware of this limitation going in. When shooting JPEG, the buffer size increases considerably so if you normally shoot JPEG it might not be a problem.

    2. The dual card slot sounds great. There are several menu options to configure how you want the slots to behave; mirror so that as you take each photo the camera writes out to the other card at the same time. Sounds great for backup? It is great if you shoot slow or general stuff. However, shooting quick, fast shots, it slows the write process down even further to the point where it is not very useable. So I always opt for having the second card to act as overflow so when the first card fills up it automatically switches to the second card. This doesn't seem to slow it down. There are also several different configurations for the dual card slots. I would suggest downloading the user manual from Nikon prior to purchase to see if it will meet your needs.

    3. As you push the shutter release it is harder to determine when the shutter will close and slightly delayed on occasion compared to the D90 which was crisp and felt just right. Its not too bad once you get accustomed to it being more sensitive and know how to deal with it but at first you will notice a sharp contrast.

    4. I added a battery grip which makes the camera balance and grip much better especially with the larger lens for going into portrait position. Nice features on it and well positioned. However, its a trade off in that you have to take the grip off every time you want to charge the battery that remains in the camera. Only one battery is in this battery grip vs. the design made for the D90 which was two.

    In general I highly recommend this camera despite the comments above. The limitations above are something to be aware of for my shooting conditions. If these don't match how you plan to use the camera you will be delighted by it's performance over the D90. You will still be delighted in any case.
    I also have used the D700 and D3 and I would say this camera produces images comparable to the D700 in in some cases superior. It's not D3 or D3X class but the images are hard to distinguish until you get into really low light situations.

    No difference:
    The magnesium body vs plastic body. I didn't really notice the difference between the two cameras. They feel and look about the same and weigh very close.
  2. 29 of 32 people found this review helpful
     Wonderful camera - this is not a review - just a few notes 6 December, 2010 On Amazon.com
    There are several well done and detailed reviews here (B. Fuller +). Please just allow me to add a few considerations.

    I now have my second D7000. The first one was from the very first batch shipped and several in this batch had focusing problems (many comments on DPReview). With all lenses, and most noticeably at their maximum zoom setting, the focus was terrible. This second camera is perfect. I would guess Nikon fixed a bug in their setup routine (think Hubble :-)

    A second problem receiving numerous comments concerns "hot pixels" in live view / video mode at high ISO settings and dark surroundings. All sensors have a few pixels that are defective, are mapped, and are "fixed" to look like their neighboring pixels. This makes it a near zero problem. Unfortunately in live view / video mode the D7000 does not "hide" these pixels. My current D7000 has one annoying red pixel that is easily visible about 1/3 of the time on an HDTV monitor when shooting indoors. According to DPReview, Nikon has announced a new firmware release to solve this problem. It is no longer a concern of mine.

    I have also spent a fair bit of time comparing lenses (Koren 203 lens test chart - plus printed text and fabrics). The unexpected result is that the 18 to 105mm kit lens is nearly equal to my 60mm micro Nikkor D lens in the 18 to 35mm range (f-8). My 70 - 300mm lens (F/4.5-5.6 G IF-ED) was better than the 28 - 300mm (f 3.5 -5.6 G ED VR) in the 70 to 200 range but not quite as good at 300. The 70 - 300 produces equal centers and slightly sharper edges than the kit lens at 70mm and up. All my tests were done using jpg files with the camera setting bumped one notch for both sharpness and contrast. The differences are much less obvious and far less important in real world use. Photos of a large blooming orchid plant look almost equal on 13" x 19" prints when I was careful with the f-stop (if in doubt use f-8).

    Update: I have tested this camera in various light situations. The dynamic range system works quite well but there are occasions where you can not trust the camera's auto metering. DPReview noted: "Tendency to overexpose in bright sunshine/high contrast situations". A few of my daylight photos confirm that you need to be watchful in bright sun. I would suggest routinely setting the exposure compensation -2/3 rds stop (down) outdoors on a sunny day. There are other suggestions on the internet but this is by far the easiest to remember and undo for me. Nikon did not confirm or deny if they will include an adjustment for this in their firmware release.

    A video note:
    The focusing during video shooting tends to hunt and be noisy. The noise is more noticeable when reviewing in camera than on an HDTV system. One solution is to think "producer" and edit together a series of shots instead of continuous shooting.

    Update: The Sennheiser MKE 400 Shotgun Microphone was a nice addition for video. The focus noise becomes less noticeable and the quality is very good. The mic is quite compact and does not make the set up look too over the top. It seemed better to use a medium mic sensitivity (2) than AGC when shooting.

    Within the camera setup there are a number of focus options including changing the delay time before the camera tries to refocus (0 delay and 5 other options). There are many other options including subject tracking and facial recognition. The method I am currently using is to set it to center refocus when I half press the shutter release. I have made the mistake of fully depressing it though, and that terminates recording. If you are primarily interested in video the Panasonic GH1 / 2 is more designed for that. The D7000 is spectacular still camera first, and capable of beautiful video when carefully used second.

    A personal bias:
    I believe the D7000 is capable of more than many of the Nikon DX lenses are delivering. Great lenses are a strength of Nikon, let's keep the heat on them to design lenses that maximize the images from their DX cameras too.
  3. 18 of 19 people found this review helpful
     Please read if you are comparing this camera to others! 28 July, 2012 On Amazon.com
    If you are deciding on your first dslr camera, an ametuer photographer, or hobbyist, The Nikon d7000 should be the Perfect camera body for you. Yes, this is a very high-end consumer grade camera which has the same sensor as the Nikon d5100, but the layout of the settings, advanced capabilities, and user setting options will help you to understand how to effectively use a professional grade camera. As a professional photographer, I own several Nikon models such as the full frame Nikon d700 and often replicate the same image quality as my professional cameras. With that being said, its not always about the camera you use, the quality of the photographs you take depends on your knowledge of to properly use your instrument in different shooting situations.

    Aside from learning the camera, the Nikon d7000 Can Definitely take professional quality pictures if you equip it with the proper lenses. Please research and gain an understanding of the difference between (fx) and (dx) lenses. If you are unsure about your future in the photography field or planning to upgrade to a full frame camera at some point in time, BUY (FX) LENSES FOR THIS CAMERA BODY. Although they are a bit more expensive than (dx) lenses, it will be extremely beneficial invest in an(fx) lens to prevent wasting your money on the same range of view on a professional model camera later on down the road. An (fx) lens on your d7000 will magnify the zoom on your content and also give you more sharp images. Directly investing in a higher quality lens may not be better for everyone's use of this camera, but can almotst guarantee to save you hundreds of dollars if you plan on upgrading to a full frame camera body. If not, you will still enjoy your camera with the smaller (dx) lenses.

    SN# Some people mention a focus issue with this camera because they do not fully understand the camera. I have solved this problem with 75% of my assistant shooters by simply adjusting the viewfinder dial which is located directly on side of the eyepiece. If the viewfinder is not focused when you take the shot, it will not be focused when viewing it elsewhere.

    Point blank, this is the best camera body availible from nikon around the $1000 price range and serves as a great back up camera to any professional model. If you must save up to buy this camera as your first DSLR, You Will Not Regret it!
  4. 14 of 14 people found this review helpful
     Large performance - small camera 27 February, 2011 On Amazon.com
    Having been a long time nikon shooter, I really felt the move was toward full frame sensors. This camera shows how much image quality can still be wrung out of the dx format. I was really blown away with the color quality and crispness of the images. But as soon as I got my hands on it I was starting to feel this would be an ideal travel camera. It's small and pretty light. The big 3" monitor is the same as on my D3 and was state of the art when first introduced. Megapixels do matter and this camera gives you a lot of cropping ability. The high ISO ratings give you so much flexibility. Even at ISO 6400, pictures shot indoors allowed adequate shutter speeds to stop moving children. Unless blown up big, you are barely able to differentiate between pics shot at ISO 100 and ISO 6400. I am extremely happy with this camera at a modest price.
  5. 12 of 12 people found this review helpful
     Compared to my D300s 24 July, 2011 On Amazon.com
    I am "sidegrading" to this camera from a D300s. Here are my thoughts after shooting both together for a couple of months.

    The worst thing about the D7000 are its more "beginner friendly" ergonomics. The mode wheel on the D7000 is too easy to turn accidentally. Everything besides A, S, M, U1 and U2 are a waste for me. This could have been the perfect camera if they only made the buttons exactly like a D300s. The live view switch is too easy to hit accidentally with your thumb, especially if you use the AF lock button a lot (like, if you use it to enable autofocus). Its also too easy to accidentally press the DOF Preview button next to the lens mount as your left hand wraps around the lens. I can't imagine why they moved that button from its spot on the higher end Nikons.

    The one true ergonomic advantage the D7000 has for me are its user modes. This is a HUGE advantage, as the more settings I have to change between shots, the more mistakes I make. I set one of the user modes to manual with auto ISO and mixing ambient shots in with flash shots becomes a total breeze. The smaller size and weight of the D7000 had seemed like it would be a big advantage but it just doesn't feel that great in my hands. I might try the grip to help this. The weight difference between the two is small enough that I don't notice it much and prefer the D300s feel.

    I had been worried that the buffer on the D7000 would run out too easily. I have never gotten into trouble with this and I shoot in 14 bit RAW. The stuff I shoot (typical Dad stuff, some portraits, some landscapes and long exposures), doesn't really require any burst shots, though.

    The image quality seems to be about a stop and a half better than a D300s after processing RAW files via Lightroom 3. I would pretty much never go above ISO 800 on the D300s. On the D7000, I will gladly go to 1600 and will use 3200 about often as 800 on the D300s. This is a big deal to me because it seams I can go without a flash about 50% more often.

    The autofocus and metering are a bit better on the D7000, but not enough for me to really care.

    Manual focus on the D7000 is easier, as it gives you arrows in the viewfinder telling you which way to turn the focus ring. D300s only gave you a dot for focus confirmation. Manual focus in Live View seems a bit easier on the D7000. I am not sure why, but it feels slicker. Maybe the screen is refreshing faster? The LCDs have identical resolution, so this could be in my head also.

    I love that the D7000 can use a cheap IR remote. The "remote mode" on the D7000 is still a bit of a mess, in that it disables your normal shutter button, but its worth not having to deal with fancy wireless shutter releases and their ridiculous screw-in cables.

    So in the end, I like the D7000 better. Image quality and user modes really cinched it for me.
  6. 10 of 10 people found this review helpful
     Kind of disappointed 29 March, 2012 On Amazon.com
    Overall this is a good camera body.

    I moved to this from a D90 and the similarity of controls was nice. This greatly reduced the learning curve.

    I like the added pixels as compared to the D90. This helps when I do 22" X 17" prints.

    However, when I did tight shots at F2.8 on both my main lenses - Nikon 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II AF-S Nikkor Zoom and the Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Wide Angle Zoom Lens (These are both VERY good lenses.) I noticed the focus looked shifted back from the indicated focus point. Example: I set the focal spot on an eye and the really sharp focus was located several inches further back on the head.

    Fortunately, the D7000 has an AF "calibration" function that permits you to shift the AF focus either closer to or further away from the camera (+ or - 20 positions) on both a global basis for all lenses or for each lens individually. I executed some tests and sure enough, I had to do a "-4, global" to get the focal plane to align with the focal spot on both lenses.

    Now things are fine but I'm surprised that a higher level body like this required this adjustment.
  7. 7 of 7 people found this review helpful
     Great Camera. One Caveat (and Fix) for People Pictures. 10 December, 2012 On Amazon.com
    Love this camera. If you are an enthusiast, this camera is a worthy upgrade from a D3100 or D5100; lots of buttons and dials for quick changes, two custom modes, tight and quiet shutter, viewfinder grid and virtual horizon, built-in flash commander mode, dual card slots, bright 100% viewfinder, and more. Love it. Love Nikon ergonomics.

    Only one problem that almost made me return it: skin tones were terrible, especially compared to the king of skin tones, my trusty Fuji S5 Pro. With the same lens (the Nikon 17-55), I took some raw and jpeg pictures (raw ones processed in Lightroom 4 and Dxo 7.5) and compared them to the raw and jpeg ones from the Fuji. The D7000 jpeg were shot in the Portrait and Standard picture modes. The Standard mode was downright wrong: too contrasty and saturated (I used it for a couple of shots, just to test it since it's the default one). The Portrait mode was also bad: skin tones were a horrid combination of green, orange, and yellow. No pink. This is where I almost returned the camera.

    Yet, I couldn't do it. I loved everything else about it. Did some online research and found out others were complaining about the same issue. One photographer recommended customizing the Neutral picture mode by shifting Hue to -1. That was good advice.

    After much testing with wife and children as test subjects, I came up with a custom picture mode that gives me skin tones that I like (don't tell anyone, but I might like them even better than the Fuji ones, well, almost. My non-photographer wife still likes the Fuji colors better).

    First, I use an ExpoImaging ExpoDisc 77mm Digital White Balance Filter - Neutral to get the perfect white balance for my jpegs (I also tried the Expodisc Portrait, but it's too warm for my taste). I know I could shoot raw and not have to worry about white balance for every shot, and I do shoot raw for income shots, but for family and friends shots, I shoot jpeg, and the Expodisc helps me nail the white balance every time (and it's really quick to set up on Nikon DSLRs). The Expodisc is expensive, but I'm a price maven and like to get my stuff used at a discount :-). You may also play with a cheaper alternative (ColorRight) or use auto white balance; the D7000 gets the white balance right most of the time, especially outdoor.

    Okay, so here it is.

    Custom Neutral picture mode (saved as Neutral1 because I have lots of imagination):
    :: +5 sharpening (D7000 is soft by default). This can be changed to +4 or +6 depending on taste;
    :: +1 saturation (D7000 skin tones are on the pale side by default);
    :: -1 hue
    :: -1 contrast
    :: ADL auto (some recommend switching ADL off, but I didn't notice any color shift in skin tones with ADL off)
    :: EV (exposure compensation) either on 0 (indoor) or 0 to -3 (outdoor). D7000 tends to overexpose outdoor sometimes.

    Voilà. Now I get the skin tones I like. Try it out. See if it works for you.
  8. 12 of 14 people found this review helpful
     Love the DSLR for movies! 14 March, 2011 On Amazon.com
    I use the JVC GYHM100U Pro Camcorder but even though it is lightweight, I found it's configuration cumbersome for many applications where portability and covertness was concerned. The DSLR has been a great addition and is ideal for outings and quick video grab shots. Many people are using the Canon product but I had over 20K of Nikon Glass and really did not want to move to another system. I am pleased with the results. the 1080/24 frame rate has not given me all that much problem, besides I shoot 720/30 most of the time anyway. If you MUST have 1080/30 you will have to stick with the canon products. Here is a quick 1 minute video I shot with it first time.... right out of the box in idiot mode... full auto! [...]

    You will experience the jello effect if you shake the camera extremely fast while shooting video but this is to be expected with DSLR's... Just simply don't pan fast or shake the camera abruptly and you will get good footage!
  9. 32 of 42 people found this review helpful
     Debunking the Nikon D7000 22 September, 2011 On Amazon.com
    ========================================================================
    Bottom-line: the greatest trick Nikon's marketing department ever pulled
    ========================================================================

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Quick summary (see below for more details)
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    **** see update at the end ****

    The Nikon D7000 is NOT the best APS-C DSLR in the market.

    After taking thousands of pictures with the D7000, I have concluded that:

    * It produces soft images
    * For ISO 200-1600 the IQ is inferior to the D90
    * For (1600 > ISO <= 4000) the IQ is better than the D90
    * For any ISO above 200 the IQ is inferior to that of the D700
    * For ISO 100 the dynamic range is superb
    * It's not really a robust camera in terms of build quality (the D300s, D700 are)
    * The AF system is just average, on par with the D90 and well below the D700
    * The raw files are prone to develop artifacts very quickly

    And on the plus side...
    * It has a magnificent dynamic range at ISO 100
    * It has some nice features (micro AF adjustment tops the list for me)

    ========================================================================
    Review
    ========================================================================

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    3 important preliminary notes
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Target audience
    This review is mainly intended for the user of cameras such as the D90, D5000, and D80 that is considering this camera against alternatives like the D700 and D300s. Probably the owner of the D60/40/3000 may also find something useful.

    A word about video
    I don't care at all about video. Video is a completely useless feature for me. I only care about stills and this review completely disregards video capabilities and features. So please, keep that in mind for the bits where you will read things like "better in every aspect".

    Foundations of this review
    I'm keen amateur photographer. I put a great deal of effort, love, and attention into this craft and I consider myself a photographer -an amateur photographer but a photographer nonetheless. I have extensively used the D700, D7000, D90, D5000, D40, D60 and to a much lesser extent other bodies (such as Sony, Canon). Thus, I'm basing this review on actual and extensive experience with those cameras and from patient comparison of same-subject shots taken under same conditions.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Why I bought this camera
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I decided to try this camera as it was a virtually risk-free exercise. A friend was travelling back to the US and I can sell it second hand at almost the same price in London. So, I decided to give it a go.

    The number 1 reason I considered this camera was because it offered micro-AF adjustment. I do a lot of low light shooting and shallow depth-of-field shots so AF accuracy is very, very important for me. Let me be clear about one thing: I don't have any problem whatsoever with the AF in the D90 with Nikkor lenses. I do however have problems with third-party lenses (see my review of the Sigma 24 f/1.8 for an example).

    The second reason why I decided to give this camera a try was the dynamic range. I love the colours and contrast offered by bright sunny days and sunsets as much as I hate white skies resulting from poor dynamic range.

    In all honesty, I didn't have any other reasons to justify this camera.

    I also knew that the extra 4MP would most likely render noisier images without any meaningful/observable increase in resolution.

    I also didn't care at all about the (partial) alloy frame, mild weather sealing, video, and the double card thing.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Reality check: the distance between marketing and actual performance
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Let's start with the good.

    Remember what I told you about my reasons to try this camera? Yes, (1) Micro-AF adjustment, and (2) dynamic range. Well, let me tell you that it delivered in both counts.

    I'm very happy with the micro AF adjustment. I can now use third-party lenses without spending too much time manually focusing to get sharp images. Great. Excellent.

    Next: dynamic range. I knew the extra dynamic range would show up only at ISO 100, and it did. Fantastic. A clear 1 (1 1/3 I would say) extra stop which results in a meaningful, observable, and delightful, improvement in my landscape photography.

    If you just give me a D90 with those extra features (micro AF and expanded dynamic range) I would buy it in a heartbeat

    Now, let's move on to the rest...

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Noise
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Let's start with the elephant in the room that apparently nobody wants to see: the D7000 produces more noise than the D90 from ISO 200 to ISO 1600.

    It doesn't matter how you want to slice it: between ISO 200 and ISO 1600 the D90 delivers lower noise than the D7000.

    Am I surprised? Not at all; do I care? Yes, but not much

    From ISO 3200 to ISO 6400 is the other way around. In particular, with the D90 my limit is ISO 1600, beyond that I have to put extra work and technique to get useable images; with the D7000 I can dare to go to ISO 3200 -and then put extra work and technique if I want to go beyond that.

    * Noise Vs the D700
    Let's be clear in one thing: the D7000 handles noise with decency from ISO 1600 to around ISO 4000. However, it does NOT come close to what the D700 can do. The D700 smokes the D7000 when it comes to low-light / high-ISO performance. These are two worlds apart.

    Really, don't kid yourself. For a lot of people the way the D7000 handles high-ISO noise is more than enough -but in no way is at the level of the D700.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Dynamic range and colours
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    * Dynamic range and colours at ISO 200 and above

    At ISO 200 and above, the D90 delivers marginally better dynamic range and colours than the D7000. The difference is small, and most people will not notice it. Yet, the difference is there and plays in favour of the D90.

    When compared to the D700, well, things are different: The D700 captures colours and tones in a way the D7000 can only dream of. As for dynamic range, the D7000 still trumps the D700 up to ISO 300/400. Beyond that, again, the D700 smokes the D7000.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Overall Image Quality
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    This is the biggest issue.

    From ISO 200 to ISO 1600, the D90 delivers better image quality than the D7000. The D90 has better colours, less noise, often better dynamic range, and -very important- higher acuity.

    Please, pay attention to the last part: the D90 images have higher acuity than those from the D7000.

    Let me put it in other words: the D7000 produces SOFT images. I hate to break it to you because I was very surprised by that, but there is no doubt: the D7000 produces soft images.

    Above ISO 1600, the D7000 produces better images than the D90.

    What about the D700? Well, in this case things are very simple: the IQ you can get from ISO 200 and above is clearly, vastly, superior in the D700. The images are better both at low and high ISO -but it gets bigger as ISO increases.

    * Artifacts
    If you had asked me before, I would had said that is the other way around, but as it turns out, the RAW files in the D7000 offer significantly less latitude for post-processing than both the D700 and the D90. The key failure here is sharpening: there is very little latitude to get a natural look. Don't ask me why, but with the D7000 artifacts build up very quickly during sharpening. Lens aberrations are also harder to work with in the D7000 -again, don't ask me why.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    AF system
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    The 11 focus points in the D90 are enough for me -heck, I have no problem with the 3 focus point in the D40. But having 39 focus points is a very, very nice addition. I don't complaint.

    However, the AF accuracy of the D7000 is really not what you expect. It's largely on par with that of the D90 -that is, nothing extraordinary.

    How does it compare to the AF in the D700? Well, the AF system is simply inferior to that in the D700. There is a significant advantage for the D700 that really makes a difference in terms of performance.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Build quality
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Lots of people got excited by the stronger frame and weather sealing. I have only played for a little while with a friends' D300s and at the store, and I can tell you this: the D300s is a much stronger camera. Needless to say, the D7000 also pales against the D700.

    The truth is that after almost 50,000 shots with the D90 I never felt any disadvantage in terms of ruggedness or durability, and after several thousand shots with the D7000 I can't see much of a difference. Yes, I know is marginally stronger but I don't really see any advantage in that to be honest. I would trade the partial magnesium alloy frame for better image quality without thinking about it.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Additional things
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    There are a few things that I like in the D7000. I find the buttons layout and ergonomics to be very good. Also, the 100% viewfinder coverage is definitively a plus. And the live view system is significantly better than in both the D90 and D700.

    * Exposure
    One thing that you may have read is that "the D7000 overexposes" -nonsense.

    First, it's your fault if you don't understand how the camera meters light. Second, any photographer worth his salt would make the exposure decision. The way I see it, whenever I read "the D7000 overexposes" I know that person doesn't think like a true photographer. And third, it's simply not true: the metering is very accurate and reliable. I usually select something else simply because I'm looking for something different than the average and because I already have in mind what I'm going to do with that shot (really, until you have figured out what you are going to do with the shot you can't really say that it is over or under exposed).

    ========================================================================
    Conclusion
    ========================================================================

    After taking thousands of pictures with the D7000, I have concluded that:

    * It produces soft images
    * For ISO 200-1600 the IQ is inferior to the D90
    * For (1600 > ISO <= 4000) the IQ is better than the D90
    * For any ISO above 200 the IQ is inferior to that of the D700
    * For ISO 100 the dynamic range is superb
    * It's not really a robust camera in terms of build quality (the D300s, D700 are)
    * The AF system is just average, on par with the D90 and well below the D700
    * The raw files are prone to develop artifacts very quickly

    In short, the D7000 doesn't have the best image quality, is not the strongest camera, and it doesn't have the best AF performance.

    Should you get a D7000? Well, that depends. Why do you want it? For the low-light performance? If so, wait a little more for a second hand D700. For the ruggedness? Get a D300. For the IQ (iso 200-1600)? Get a D90. For the AF? Get a D300 or above. For the dynamic range? Good reason, but remember that is only very good at ISO 100 and you still will have to deal with the softness of the image.

    I now have put my hopes in the D300s replacement. I do need the high dynamic range, but I put acuity, colours, noise performance, and AF accuracy before the extra dynamic range at ISO 100 any day. The new technology that Nikon has revealed in the J1/V1 hints to promising things for the upper-end DSLRs. But only using the yet-to-be-announced camera will tell if the better performance is actually there or just in the marketing brochures

    ********************
    Feb 2012 UPDATE
    ********************
    I've just sold my D7000.

    After spending a few more months with the D7000 I decided to sell it (the reasons are described in the review, nothing new here)

    The price of the D700 is coming down, so if you are interested in stills, go for the D700 and ditch the D7000.

    I may go for the D800, but I hope Nikon will release a camera with the D4 sensor and the D800 body. That's the one I would go for with my eyes closed.
  10. 5 of 5 people found this review helpful
     All you can ask for! 8 September, 2012 On Amazon.com
    As a amateur photography enthusiast, the Nikon D7000 is my first DLSR camera. And i couldnt be less amazed by the power it gives into your hands - yet to subtle and can be used by newbies like me effortlessly.

    The menu options are simple to understand, and i found them quite intuitive and didn't have to read the manual to know what each does.

    The pictures come out really well, its 16 MP and amazing clarity - whether you shoot indoors or outdoors. The auto mode is a no brainer - i actually started off with the pre-set "scene" modes which are designed perfectly for different shooting conditions.

    There are lot of manual settings - a setting for practically everything you can think of. I am actually learning all of them as i use it more - but its a real treat for someone interested in photography. You soon find there is so much to learn, it surprises you everyday.

    You can take full HD video in amazing movie like clarity. Buy a 32 or 64 GB card if you plan to shoot more videos since video size can easily go up to 800 MB for a 5 min video on 1080 HD.

    Battery life is also improved from the previous models - i got around 800 shots + a few 5 min videos from a single battery charge.

    The only sore point i would say is - it is little heavy to carry around especially after you attach the lens. Need strong hands if you are outdoors and want to click pics as you travel.

    I highly recommend this equally to amateurs and professionals.
‹ Previous | 1 2 ... 11 | Next ›
  1. Most Helpful First
  2. |
  3. Newest First