Customer Reviews on Amazon.com

(8,700 reviews)
4.3 out of 5 stars
  1. 5 star (5,576)
  2. 4 star (1,604)
  3. 3 star (573)
  4. 2 star (313)
  5. 1 star (634)
See all reviews ›

Showing 5-star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 2 ... 558 | Next ›
  1. Most Helpful First
  2. |
  3. Newest First
  1.  A big change in reading 21 September, 2014 On Amazon.com
    I thought I needed my books to read, but having my Kindle has been fantastic! I don't miss holding the book and turning pages. I can have all my reading material in my one Kindle.
  2.  Kindle e-inks are the best gift money can buy 20 September, 2014 On Amazon.com
    My Kindle was the best gift I ever received, and I was thrilled to pass the joy on to my Mom with this purchase.
  3.  Just like it says 19 September, 2014 On Amazon.com
    Just like it says. It is like reading a paper book in bright sunlight. no problem seeing the printing at all. I highly recommend this reader.
  4.  I love real, physical books too much 19 September, 2014 On Amazon.com
    I am one of those individuals who swore they would never get into this e-reader trend. I love real, physical books too much. I will still buy books I absolutely love and want to cherish in paper form, however, I must admit: This device is worth the money. (Especially if you're buying used/refurbished.) In two weeks, I've already saved enough on books to pay for my used Kindle. And other than pushing a button to turn pages, with this Kindle, the experience is very similar. No, there isn't the book smell, or the feel of paper, but put a leather cover on it, and you feel like you're reading a very nice copy of something. The clarity of the words is incredible. It weighs almost nothing. Which, for those of us who have read several thousand page novels lying on our sides in bed, trying to figure out how to hold the book without making our arms go limp after a while... The words on the screen are incredibly clear, and turning pages happens very quickly. The screen doesn't go dark, because there is no light behind it. "Sleep mode" with special offers (if you opt for that cheaper option) takes a long time to set in, so it can't happen in the middle of reading a page. (Unless you fall asleep.) As to the special offers, personally, I don't mind them. They let me know about $1.99 deals, and many other offers for Kindle owners/Prime users. Without the special offers, I wouldn't have found out that Prime users get a free un-published book each month. Or have the ability to use the Kindle Owner's Lending Library. Over-all, I'm incredibly happy with my purchase. Just a bit guilty about leaving paper books behind.
  5.  Well worth the money and simple to use. 17 September, 2014 On Amazon.com
    Had this Kindle for several years now. No problems what so ever. Infinate selection of books and magazines. Well worth the money and simple to use.
  6.  Five Stars 16 September, 2014 On Amazon.com
    my mom loves it.
  7.  Perfect for the traveler/on the go personality. 15 September, 2014 On Amazon.com
    Love it! Basically everything about the Kindle is great. For me the biggest benefit is its transportability. If you are someone who travels regularly and also reads regularly,there's no better option. You don't get the screen glare from other handheld devices/tablets and you can buy an inexpensive case that has a light. When we lived overseas, bringing books across was cost prohibitive and didn't make a lot of sense in storage. But the Kindle allowed us to have our books everywhere. Really good.
  8.  great for outside reading 14 September, 2014 On Amazon.com
    like my kindle. like that I can read it outside without a glare
  9.  I'm very pleased with the basic version of the Kindle 14 September, 2014 On Amazon.com
    I'm very pleased with the basic version of the Kindle. It has more than enough space for my books. One strange thing is that even after I turned the wireless on, only one of my expired library loans became inaccessible. The others are all still there and available to read. I'm not complaining, though, because hey, free books. I actually hope this glitch never gets fixed; my account shows the books as returned, so it's not as if the library is losing any copies. The ink display means I don't have to worry about reading it in the sunlight, and it doesn't have any unnecessary functions like videos or games (that's what my computer is for).

    Also, this thing is really well made. I was carrying my it home from work in the same bag as a thermos. The thermos opened up, spilling tea everywhere. The Kindle got soaked: when I held it up, tea came spilling out from the seams between buttons (and, presumably, from inside of it). It still functions perfectly. I didn't even have to wait for it to dry out before using it again.
  10.  I Love My Kindle 13 September, 2014 On Amazon.com
    Beautiful little reader, perfectly priced to sell to many who cannot afford or do not need an expensive one. I love my Kindle!
‹ Previous | 1 2 ... 558 | Next ›
  1. Most Helpful First
  2. |
  3. Newest First