Customer Reviews on Amazon.com

(8,523 reviews)
4.3 out of 5 stars
  1. 5 star (5,441)
  2. 4 star (1,586)
  3. 3 star (565)
  4. 2 star (307)
  5. 1 star (624)
‹ Previous | 1 2 ... 853 | Next ›
  1. Most Helpful First
  2. |
  3. Newest First
  1.  One of my favorite Amazon purchases 18 April, 2014 On Amazon.com
    One of my favorite Amazon purchases. I primarily check out library books on it (almost as easy as purchasing the books, and perfect because I rarely read books twice.) I would definitely recommend saving the money to get the Kindle with Special Offers as the ads only appear on the lock screen and don't bother me any other time. And occasionally I have even purchased the advertised item! It is lightweight and is easy to slide into a purse or even a lab coat pocket for a slow day at work.
  2.  Well worth it! 18 April, 2014 On Amazon.com
    Purchased this as a gift, well worth the price. For those of us that just want to read and keep information, this product is perfect. I've had one for 2 years and gave this as a gift, best gift ever received, don't need all the bells and whistles just to read a book! Would recommend to a friend.
  3.  Wish I had gotten the more expensive one 16 April, 2014 On Amazon.com
    I was very reluctant to get a kindle. I love the feel and look of regular books. But I am converted! The kindle is so handy, it is
    irresistible. The print is easy to read. The free books are a feast. Now I want all the bells and whistles!
  4.  My second Kindle 16 April, 2014 On Amazon.com
    This is a great improvement over the original. I especially like the backlighting that allows me to read without requiring a reading lamp.
  5.  Dead 15 April, 2014 On Amazon.com
    Died for no reason & I can't reset it without unglueing the back & risking breaking it! Bogus!! Won't turn on at all. No hard treatment at all. Very disappointed.
  6.  The best 15 April, 2014 On Amazon.com
    I have a Kindle Fire as well as this - and this is so much better. I love how the writing looks like it is a book, and the battery lasts forever. I wish I hadn't spent the money to "upgrade" to a Kindle Fire, with apps that are clunky anyway.
  7.  Great value for money, wish I had waited for paperwhite 14 April, 2014 On Amazon.com
    This was bought as a gift for a ten year old (with appropriate cover of course) and when it crashed in the first week, Amazon was great about replacing it efficiently. I still use my keyboard kindle and when I replace it, I will go with the paperwhite versions because I feel more colour contrast between the text and background would improve my reading experience.
  8.  Kindle (amazing) 13 April, 2014 On Amazon.com
    I had decided to write an review on the kindle I have even though I had not bought it through Amazon and wish I had did because it was at a very great payed price and now it comes in black next there going to be coming out with different colors soon. And if soon that happens I'm buying a colored one . I can't say enough how much I love my kindle e-Reader. I recommend this for all book readers who loves books like me. And including it holds up tomorrow then 4 weeks of battery life and what's better enough then taking one book with you when you can take a thousand books with you, all packed in this one small thin device. I really love it. It was a great graduation gift and I had always wanted one very much. Although I wanted it in black but beggars can't be choosers I guess , but I am very blessed that God had given me this. Thank Amazon will be shopping here very soon. :)
  9.  Better to stick to basics. 11 April, 2014 On Amazon.com
    There's a lot of products nowadays that try to do everything. What I like about the entry-level Kindle is that it only does one thing and it does it well. Reading e-books on this device is a pleasure due to it's size, weight, and button locations for page flipping. This is a well thought out product that doesn't distract and allows you to focus on your reading. Having to charge the device only once every 2 weeks is also nice. I upgraded from a gen 1 Kindle so this was a huge improvement for me in every aspect.
  10.  Greatest little gadget on Earth. 11 April, 2014 On Amazon.com
    Now where do I start? Not only does it fulfill all my reading needs - the e- ink technology makes it possible to read on your Kindle even in bright and direct sunlight, you can increase the fonts and the space between letters if you read a lot and your eyes get tired, it has a very long battery life and can store a large amount of books; it works with various formats and allows for taking notes... The only reason I sometimes wish I chose another model would be the lack of keyboard (it is not easy to type or search through the dictionaries with the system this Kindle has - but on the other hand, the screen is larger this way) - and yes, the next Kindle I buy will be touchscreen, just because of the feel of flipping a page. Other than that, back when I bought it, this was the only model that could be shipped to my country. Thankfully, that's changed now.
‹ Previous | 1 2 ... 853 | Next ›
  1. Most Helpful First
  2. |
  3. Newest First