Customer Reviews on Amazon.com

(518 reviews)
4.3 out of 5 stars
See all reviews ›

Showing 3-star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
  1. Most Helpful First
  2. |
  3. Newest First
  1.  NAH! 23 January, 2013 On Amazon.com
    Format:Audio CD
    FOUR DISCS ARE NOT AS VALUABLE AS WE THOUGHT BEFORE, AND REMASTERED CDS IS NOT THAT BRILLANT WHEN I COMPARED THEM WITH THE ORIGINALALBUMS. THE FOURTH DISC IS A LITTLE POINTLESS, AND UNNECESSARY.
  2. 8 of 9 people found this review helpful
     Some Nice Additions, But With A Few Major Fatal Flaws 2 May, 2012 On Amazon.com
    Format:Audio CD
    As a huge fan of the soundtrack to 'Titanic', I was excited when I saw that this soundtrack had been released. At last, here was an opportunity for the powers that be to fix the two major problems with the original releases - all the missing recordings, and those silly dialogue insertions into their recordings of "An Irish Party in Third Class" and "Come Josephine In My Flying Machine". However, caution prevailed - I resolved to borrow this soundtrack from a friend before buying it. I am so glad that I did. To my frustration, I found that, while some additional tracks from the excellent 'I Salonisti' and other groups had been included, apparently no one had the common sense to remove the movie dialogue from any of the songs featured. Why would anyone want to pay extra money to get the same music they bought before, still flawed with "Look, Jack, there's a boat!" and other nonsense? To my mind that detracts seriously from one's ability to appreciate and listen to the music. Shame on you, Sony Masterworks!
  3. 0 of 2 people found this review helpful
     disappointing music 6 July, 2009 On Amazon.com
    Format:Audio CD
    Most of the music on this cd feels & sounds very dark. I loved the Celine Dion piece & bits & parts of some others. This is not music I'd play for relaxation, enjoyment or entertainment purposes
  4. 1 of 1 people found this review helpful
     Milking the cow 22 June, 2008 On Amazon.com
    Format:Audio CD
    There is nothing new here, merely the repackaging of the original soundtrack as first released, and the second release of additional music: Titanic and Return to Titanic. So if you have those already you don't need this one.
  5. 0 of 7 people found this review helpful
     Not what you think 20 June, 2008 On Amazon.com
    Format:Audio CD
    I love the movie so thought the soundtrack would be as enjoyable but it wasn't.
  6. 0 of 1 people found this review helpful
     My stereo will go on 22 January, 2008 On Amazon.com
    Format:Audio CD
    Maybe I've expected from this score too much. Without dramatic pictures and visual atmosphere is the music just a shadow of the great epic story. One well-known melody and that's all. And maybe I've expected from this SACD too much. The rear channels are not enough dynamic, it's like a stereo sound remastered to 5.1 sound (It's a hybrid SACD - stereo and surround sound)... I think, here is a classical stereo sound enough.
  7. 1 of 4 people found this review helpful
     Titanic 29 December, 2006 On Amazon.com
    Format:Audio CD
    The score can be summed up like this: interesting flutes, bagpipes, a wailing voice, unabashedly synthetic choirs, and typical Horner action music (which I appreciate the structure of, although not everybody does). Also, the rather timeless melody that we all know and love. This is one of the big ones you're supposed to get, so get it if you haven't.

    I only gave three stars because I prefer other kinds of scores, really--it's good for what it is.
  8.  OK - Not Great - Lots of good music from the movie is not on this CD 25 July, 2006 On Amazon.com
    Format:Audio CD
    This is a pretty weak CD of the Titanic music. Lots of scores from the original movie are not included - so overall I was disappointed by it. It's sound is repetitious and a bid monotonic and boring. Love Celine and if you love her to then the CD maybe worth buying - otherwise look for a more complete CD.
  9. 0 of 6 people found this review helpful
     A horner score by all acounts, but not as good as others 10 October, 2005 On Amazon.com
    Format:Audio CD
    I honestly feel this soundtrack won the academy award for best dramatic score because of the overrated movie itself and for the Celion Dion song. It isn't a bad score, but i don't know, it is clouded to me. I didn't enjoy the score tracks expect for track 15. And I always heard "my heart will go on" instead of the whole album. So, that isn't a good sign, lol. It is really something that Glory and Braveheart his much superior scores did not win the award and Titanic, an inferior score to an overrated movie did! I don't think this score/soundtrack deserved it and Horner's only Academy award for best score is tainted to me.
  10. 1 of 1 people found this review helpful
     Not as I Hoped 6 January, 2003 On Amazon.com
    Format:Audio CD
    I should have watched the movie one more time before ordering this CD. Although most of the music from the movie is on the CD, I was hoping that it would have included the music played in the 3rd class party scene. Some of the cuts are a bit depressing, and someone actually asked me to turn the CD off at one point! I enjoy Celtic music and had just hoped there was more of that offered on this CD, as heard in the movie.
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
  1. Most Helpful First
  2. |
  3. Newest First

Reviews for

Titanic

More Reviews

Amazon.com
(518)
Amazon.co.uk
(34)